Hiker walking on the way to Santiago de Compostela in Quercy Blanc
Hiker walking on the way to Santiago de Compostela in Quercy Blanc
Mr Cochet
Outside

Two rejuvenating days on the way to Compostela in Quercy Blanc

Quercy Blanc
The Cahors-Vallée du Lot destination, a territory marked by the Causses and the Quercy Blanc, offers walks in the middle of bucolic landscapes. You will have the opportunity to discover this fantastic setting through a mythical path: the GR65, route from Puy en Velay to get to Santiago de Compostela. During the 80km that you will walk, you will discover many paintings that will all delight your heart.

Listen to Marjory tell you about her two days of fantastic hikes on the way to Compostela towards Quercy Blanc. Many surprises were revealed during her trip, and it is with pleasure that she tells us about her superb epics.

Leaving Cahors: delicious reality or exquisite dream? 

The beginning of my hike towards Quercy Blanc is a particularly strong and moving moment for me. Indeed, leaving Cahors offered me many surprises and I will always keep in mind the memory of this magical morning.

A treasure classified by UNESCO

The discovery of the Valentré bridge

We are at the very beginning of the day, it is seven o'clock. I walk through the narrow streets of the historic center of Cahors to find the famous scallops which tell me that I am on the GR65 again. Everything is calm, only the sound of my footsteps on the cobblestones of the city and the first songs of birds reach my ears. This silence is appreciable, and I have never felt so relaxed and in tune with myself.

I arrive at Valentré Bridge, the exit door from the old Caduran city with its undeniable charm. I remain speechless at the sight of this building classified as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The rising sun floods the defensive towers with a golden color, thus embellishing this majestic monument, oh so already sublime. The splendor of this moment almost convinces me to stay posted there to continue to admire the scene. But "el camino" is waiting for me.

So I cross the building to continue on my way. It is while passing under one of its defense towers that I see a mysterious creature watching me motionless. This is the famous devil of the Valentré bridge, whose legend says that he would have participated actively in the construction of the building following a pact he would have established with the architect of the time.

So I cross this remarkable bridge, and find myself climbing a cliff. The climb is steep, but it offers incredible views of the city. Quickly, I walk in the heart of a grove.

Valentré bridge from the Magne cross
Valentré bridge from the Magne cross
Mr Cochet
A most unexpected encounter 

A wild world that reveals itself

That's when an incredible and unexpected vision interrupts the flow of my thoughts. Two fawns running and playing together between the trees appear in front of me. Here I am literally frozen while they do not seem disturbed and continue to have fun like this for a few more moments.

It is by feeling the lack of air that I realize that I had stopped breathing in front of this scene which appeared to me like a mirage. It is therefore moved that I take the road again, and discover a superb view of the Valentré bridge and the city below. An immense joy invades me, and I realize how much this morning seems to be the harbinger of an idyllic day.

Crossing picturesque villages

 

1
Labastide-Marnhac Castle
Labastide-Marnhac Castle
Mr Cochet
A bastide and a green village

Labastide-Marnhac

My two days of hiking on the Cahors – Montlauzun section continued under the most beautiful hospices: radiant sunshine and sublime landscapes. Thus, I had the chance to discover charming little villages characteristic of Quercy Blanc.

I think first of all Labastide-Marnhac and its castle with various architectural styles located in a superb green setting. 

2
Stopover gîte in Lascabanes on the GR65
Stopover gîte in Lascabanes on the GR65
Mr Cochet
A village with devastating charm

Lascabanes

Or even Lascabanes, which struck me as the very representation of the typical French village, with its beautiful white stone houses with flowery facades, and its alley of plane trees leading to the village church. There I particularly appreciated the old presbytery, a building full of character that became a stopover lodge, which seemed to me like a little corner of paradise conducive to calm and relaxation.

3
Montcuq village view from the dungeon, near the GR65
Montcuq village view from the dungeon, near the GR65
Mr Cochet
A village of immaculate beauty

Montcuq-en-Quercy-Blanc

Last but not least, I admit I had a crush on Montcuq, a surprising village not for its name, but for its ivory beauty. Here, everything invites you to settle down in order to taste the little pleasures of life: a refreshing grenadine in one of the shady cafes in the central square, the sensation of dizziness generated by the observation of its imposing keep, a stroll in the alleys full of charm in the style of yesteryear...

Unsuspected wonders in the heart of a dense forest

Another element that I particularly appreciated during these two days of walking was the crossing of the woods before arriving at Montcuq. Indeed, before reaching the long-awaited village, you have to go through a magnificent forest with emerald foliage.

Gargantuan

Huge blocks of stone

Hardly I tread under the first foliage that a marvelous surprise appears: superb rocks of an impressive size stand in front of me. These monumental blocks of stone are particularly surprising because at no time would I have imagined finding rocks of such size on this path. This discovery diffuses in me the feeling of being tiny in the heart of this imposing nature.

impressionism

The Fountain of Wonders

My amazement then continues when, suffocating from the ambient heat, sounds of lapping gradually reach my ears. Then appears a wonderful fountain with crystal clear water inviting me to refresh my face. When I bend down to plunge my hands into this clear water, I realize that a dozen green frogs have taken up residence there. I then amuse myself for a few moments trying to find all the amphibians, whose color blends particularly well in this picture worthy of a painting by Monet. 

Push your limits... with joy!  

I have a secret to tell you: I'm not a great athlete, and hiking is a relatively new activity for me. Walking this path, I didn't know what to expect. How far could I go? After how many kilometers was I going to capitulate?

The last stage on this section in the south of the Lot allowed me to test my limits: in total, 30 kilometers awaited me on this last day of the journey. I have to tell you, this stage is not really flat! I started this section with a sublime climb on the side of the cliff; and when I saw Montlauzun from afar (which was my point of arrival), I immediately understood the reason for the word “Mont” in the name of this village! Thus, my journey would end in beauty.

Hike on the GR 6 - Ouysse Valley
Hike on the GR 6 - Ouysse Valley
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello
Personal discovery

Surpassing oneself

It was hot, very hot indeed. My legs felt heavy, yes. My feet were sore, sure. But I was determined to finish this section, to prove to myself that I could walk 30 kilometers in one day. I then climbed this famous hill heralding the end of my journey.

The magic of the moment

Every step is important

One step at a time is all that matters. This moment of effort gave me a precious gift: the value of the present moment. Indeed, at the end of this hike where exhaustion preoccupies our thoughts, the only thing that matters is THE next step leading to the summit. So, by concentrating on each of my steps one by one, without getting dizzy with all the distance I had to go, I succeeded! Here I am at the top of the village of Montlauzun!

Pilgrim on the way to Santiago de Compostela
Pilgrim on the way to Santiago de Compostela
G. Giuglio
An incredible itinerant hike What I retain

It is therefore with this feeling of victory, intense emotion and joy that my escapade on the GR65 in the Lot Valley ended. I feel deeply grateful to myself for making the decision to leave. In fact, if I hadn't done it, I would never have been able to experience all that I have experienced: incredible encounters that moved me to the depths of myself, the (re)discovery of a simple and unadorned life, the development of a new perception of me.

On the same theme

My favorites
Your favorites

Randonneuse marchant sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle dans le Quercy Blanc
Randonneuse marchant sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle dans le Quercy Blanc
M. Cochet
En plein air

Deux jours ressourçants sur le chemin de Compostelle dans le Quercy Blanc

Quercy Blanc
La destination Cahors-Vallée du Lot, territoire marqué par les Causses et le Quercy Blanc, propose des balades au beau milieu de paysages bucoliques. Vous aurez la possibilité de découvrir ce décor fantastique à travers un chemin mythique : le GR65, voie du Puy en Velay pour se rendre à Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle. Au cours des 80km que vous arpenterez, vous découvrirez de nombreux tableaux qui sauront tous ravir votre cœur.

Ecoutez Marjory vous raconter ses deux journées de randonnées fantastiques sur le chemin de Compostelle en direction du Quercy Blanc. Bien des surprises se sont révélées au cours de son voyage, et c'est avec plaisir qu'elle nous raconte ses superbes épopées.

La sortie de Cahors : réalité délicieuse ou rêve exquis ? 

Le commencement de ma randonnée en direction du Quercy Blanc est un moment particulièrement fort et émouvant pour moi. En effet, la sortie de Cahors m’a offert bien des surprises et je garderai toujours en tête le souvenir de cette matinée magique.

Un trésor classé à l'UNESCO

La découverte du pont Valentré

Nous sommes au tout début de la journée, il est sept heures. Je marche dans les ruelles étroites du centre historique de Cahors afin de retrouver les fameuses coquilles Saint-Jacques qui m’indiquent que je suis de nouveau sur le GR65. Tout est calme, seul le bruit de mes pas sur les pavés de la ville et les premiers chants des oiseaux parviennent à mes oreilles. Ce silence est appréciable, et jamais je ne me suis sentie aussi détendue et en phase avec moi-même.

J’arrive au Pont Valentré, la porte de sortie de l’ancienne cité cadurcienne au charme indéniable. Je reste bouche bée à la vue de cet édifice classé au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO.

Le soleil levant inonde d’une couleur dorée les tours de défenses, embellissant ainsi ce majestueux monument ô combien déjà sublime. La splendeur de cet instant me convainc presque de rester postée là pour continuer à admirer la scène. Mais « el camino » m’attend.

Je traverse donc l’édifice afin de poursuivre mon chemin. C’est en passant sous l’une de ses tours de défenses que j’aperçois alors qu’une mystérieuse créature m’observe immobile. Il s’agit du fameux diable du pont Valentré, dont la légende raconte qu’il aurait participé activement à la construction de l’édifice suite à un pacte qu’il aurait établi avec l’architecte de l’époque.

Je traverse donc ce pont remarquable, et me retrouve ainsi à grimper une falaise. La montée est abrupte, mais elle offre des vues incroyables sur la ville. Rapidement, je marche au cœur d’un bosquet.

Pont Valentré depuis la croix Magne
Pont Valentré depuis la croix Magne
M. Cochet
Une rencontre des plus inattendues 

Un monde sauvage qui se révèle

C’est à ce moment-là qu’une vision incroyable et inattendue interrompt le flot de mes pensées. Deux faons courant et jouant ensemble entre les arbres apparaissent devant moi. Me voilà littéralement figée tandis qu’eux ne semblent pas perturbés et continuent à s’amuser ainsi encore quelques instants.

C’est en ressentant le manque d’air que je m’aperçois que j’avais cessé de respirer face à cette scène qui m’est apparue telle un mirage. C’est donc émue que je reprends la route, et découvre une superbe vue sur le pont Valentré et la ville en contre bas.  Une joie immense m’envahit, et je réalise à quel point cette matinée paraît être annonciatrice d’une journée idyllique.

La traversée de villages pittoresques

 

1
Château de Labastide-Marnhac
Château de Labastide-Marnhac
M. Cochet
Une bastide et un village verdoyant

Labastide-Marnhac

Mes deux jours de randonnées sur le tronçon Cahors – Montlauzun ont continué sous les plus beaux hospices : un soleil radieux et des paysages sublimes. Ainsi, j’ai eu la chance de découvrir de ravissants petits villages caractéristiques du Quercy Blanc.

Je pense tout d’abord à Labastide-Marnhac et son château aux divers styles architecturaux situé dans un superbe écrin de verdure. 

2
Gîte d'étape à Lascabanes sur le GR65
Gîte d'étape à Lascabanes sur le GR65
M. Cochet
Un village au charme ravageur

Lascabanes

Ou encore Lascabanes, qui m’est apparu comme la représentation même du village typique français, avec ses belles maisons de pierres blanches aux façades fleuries, et son allée de platanes menant à l’église du village. Là-bas j’ai particulièrement apprécié l’ancien presbytère, bâtisse pleine de caractère devenue gîte d’étape, qui m’est apparu comme un petit coin de paradis propice au calme et à la détente.

3
Vue village Montcuq depuis le donjon , proche du GR65
Vue village Montcuq depuis le donjon , proche du GR65
M. Cochet
Un bourg à la beauté immaculée

Montcuq-en-Quercy-Blanc

Enfin, j’avoue avoir eu un coup de cœur pour Montcuq, village surprenant non pas pour son nom, mais pour sa beauté ivoire. Ici, tout appelle à se poser afin de déguster les petits plaisirs de la vie : une grenadine rafraîchissante dans un des cafés ombragés de la place centrale, la sensation d’étourdissement engendré par l’observation de son donjon imposant, une balade dans les ruelles pleines de charme au style d’antan...

Des merveilles insoupçonnées au coeur d'une forêt dense

Un autre élément que j’ai particulièrement apprécié au cours de ces deux jours de promenade, c’est la traversée des bois avant d’arriver à Montcuq. En effet, avant d’atteindre le village tant attendu, il faut parcourir une magnifique forêt au feuillage émeraude.

Gargantuesque

Des blocs de pierre imposants

A peine je foule les pas sous les premières frondaisons qu’une merveilleuse surprise fait son apparition : de superbes rochers d’une taille impressionnante se dressent devant moi. Ces monumentaux blocs de pierre sont particulièrement surprenants car à aucun moment je n’aurai imaginé retrouver des rochers d’une telle taille sur ce chemin. Cette découverte diffuse en moi la sensation d’être minuscule au cœur de cette nature imposante.

Impressionnisme

La fontaine aux merveilles

Mon ébahissement se poursuit ensuite lorsque, suffocante de par la chaleur ambiante, des bruits de clapotis parviennent peu à peu à mes oreilles. Apparaît alors une merveilleuse fontaine à l’eau cristalline m’invitant à me rafraîchir le visage. Lorsque je me penche pour plonger mes mains dans cette eau limpide, je m’aperçois qu’une dizaine de grenouilles vertes y ont élu domicile. Je m’amuse alors quelques instants à essayer de retrouver l’ensemble des amphibiens, dont la couleur se fond particulièrement bien dans ce tableau digne d’une peinture de Monet. 

Repousser ses limites... avec joie !  

J’ai un secret à vous avouer : je ne suis pas une grande sportive, et la randonnée est une activité relativement nouvelle pour moi. En parcourant ce chemin, je ne savais pas à quoi m’attendre. Jusqu’où pouvais-je aller ? Au bout de combien de kilomètres allais-je capituler ?

La dernière étape effectuée sur ce tronçon du sud du Lot m’a permis de tester mes limites : au total, 30 kilomètres m’attendaient en ce dernier jour de périple. Je dois vous le dire, cette étape n’est pas vraiment plate ! J’ai démarré ce tronçon par une sublime montée à flanc de falaise  ; et lorsque j’aperçus de loin Montlauzun (qui était mon point d’arrivée), je compris immédiatement la raison du mot « Mont » dans le nom de ce village ! Ainsi, mon périple se terminerait en beauté.

Randonnée sur le GR 6 - Vallée de l'Ouysse
Randonnée sur le GR 6 - Vallée de l'Ouysse
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello
Découverte personnelle

Le dépassement de soi

Il faisait chaud, très chaud, certes. Mes jambes paraissaient lourdes, soit. Mes pieds étaient douloureux, assurément. Mais j’étais bien décidée à terminer ce tronçon, à me prouver que je pouvais marcher 30 kilomètres sur une journée. Je grimpai alors cette fameuse colline annonciatrice de la fin de mon périple.

La magie de l'instant présent

A chaque pas son importance

Un pas après l’autre, c’est tout ce qui importe. Cet instant d’effort m’a ainsi offert un cadeau précieux : la valeur du moment présent. En effet, à la fin de cette randonnée où l’épuisement préoccupe nos pensées, la seule chose qui compte c’est LE pas de plus menant au sommet. Ainsi, en me concentrant sur chacun de mes pas un à un,  sans m’étourdir par toute la distance qu’il me restait à parcourir, j’y suis parvenue ! Me voilà arrivée en haut du village de Montlauzun !

Pèlerin sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle
Pèlerin sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle
G. Giuglio
Un randonnée itinérante incroyable Ce que j'en retiens

C’est donc sur ce sentiment de victoire, d’émotion et de joie intenses que s’est achevé mon escapade sur le GR65 en Vallée du Lot. Je me sens profondément reconnaissante envers moi-même d’avoir pris la décision de partir. En effet, si je ne l’avais pas fait, jamais je n’aurai pu vivre tout ce que j’ai vécu : des rencontres incroyables qui m’ont bouleversées au plus profond de moi-même, la (re)découverte d’une vie simple et sans artifice, le développement d’une nouvelle perception de moi.

Sur le même thème

Mes favoris
Vos coups de cœur