With the family on the towpath from Bouziès to Saint-Cirq Lapopie
With the family on the towpath from Bouziès to Saint-Cirq Lapopie
J.Morel
Our visits and educational workshops
Our visits and educational workshops
J.Morel
Cycling through the vineyards on the Lot Valley Cycle Route
Cycling through the vineyards on the Lot Valley Cycle Route
P. Foresti - Mediart360
Pilgrims on the way to Santiago de Compostela
Pilgrims on the way to Santiago de Compostela
Lot Tourisme - G. Giuglio
Looking for an iconic ride?

Breathtaking routes

Escape on the many paths that will lead you to discover the varied and authentic landscapes of the Lot Valley.  
From the mineral universe of the causse with its dry stone walls, caselles, mysterious dolmens and small paths lined with oak trees within the Causses du Quercy Regional Natural Park to the gentle green hills of the Vers valley, passing through the landscapes vineyards and the heights of the cliffs offering unforgettable views, hiking in the Lot Valley will amaze you! 

 
This selection of easy or more sporty hikes, all marked in yellow, to discover alone, as a couple or with the family and in all seasons will offer you a breath of fresh air in the heart of nature!  

The towpath is one of our favorite walks. Carved into the rock between Saint-Cirq Lapopie and Bouziès, along the river, let yourself be surprised by this hiking trail, a marvel in nature, created by man.

Also discover ...

Pterosaur Beach
Pterosaur Beach
Pterosaur Beach
To prepare yourself before taking the plunge...

Discover pedestrian roaming in the Lot Valley! 

Alone or with your family, do you like hiking but you haven't made it past several days?  
You have some fears, and you want to try first before embarking on a great journey such as the pilgrimage to Compostela? Or maybe you only have a weekend ahead of you, but you still want to take advantage of it to walk and recharge your batteries?  
The Lot valley offers the possibility of coming to experience hiking on foot during a short stay! From 2 to 6 days (or more if your heart is won over), you can hike in the middle of the Causses du Quercy and Quercy Blanc, with or without a car. Everything is in place to facilitate your hiking adventure: train, bus, free car parks, signposting and high quality paths... 

Why the destination Cahors Lot Valley?

1
Pilgrim on the way to Santiago de Compostela
Pilgrim on the way to Santiago de Compostela
G. Giuglio

For the variety and beauty of its landscapes!

The landscapes throughout the destination are extremely varied. You will discover wooded, hilly, wild, rural landscapes, marked by imposing cliffs of breathtaking dimensions... Everything is there to arouse your amazement!  

2
Stopover gite in Montcuq
Stopover gite in Montcuq
E.Faure

For the many accommodations and services that are developed

The premises of the destination Cahors Lot Valley attach importance to nomadic travelers walking their paths, and even have affection for them! For this reason, many accommodations and other services have been put in place to accommodate them properly. You will therefore find everything you need to ensure the smooth running of your stay.  

To find all the services located near the pilgrimage routes to Santiago de Compostela, download the pilgrim guide here.

 

3
Signage on the GR65 at Cahors
Signage on the GR65 at Cahors
Mr Cochet

For the quality of the markup

In the Lot valley, hiking is one of the key activities, both for locals and visitors. Indeed, there are many paths allowing delicious walks! In order to enjoy these walks as much as possible, a very present and perfectly maintained markup has been set up on our trails. In red and white for the GR (long-distance hiking trails) or in yellow for the PR (small hiking trails), these signs will allow you to walk with peace of mind.

4
Hike to Limogne
Hike to Limogne
S.Richard

For the fabulous people you meet along the way!

The various paths of the Lot valley, and in particular the path of Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle, will allow you to meet open and curious people, with fascinating and moving stories. Particularly open, this community of itinerant hikers is eager to share in simplicity and kindness.  

5
Pilgrims on the way to Santiago de Compostela
Pilgrims on the way to Santiago de Compostela
Lot Tourisme - G. Giuglio

For the ease of the way to Santiago de Compostela

Among the many hiking trails of the destination Cahors valley of the Lot, are the paths of Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle: the traditional route of Puy-en-Velay, and the variants of Célé and Rocamadour. The Puy-en-Velay route is the most famous and the busiest, which guarantees you to find many services during your trip, and to be surrounded in case of difficulties or if you fear loneliness.

6
Valentre bridge in Cahors
Valentre bridge in Cahors
Lot Tourisme - T.Verneuil

For its rich heritage, and the many tourist activities present

For walkers also wishing to make the most of their holidays by visiting remarkable places or trying fun activities, a multitude of choices will be available to you during your stay. Something to delight the whole family! 

Something to delight the whole family!

Everything is in place in the Lot valley to ensure you wonderful days of hiking in the heart of nature and warm evenings. No headache, you will find All the services you will need to make your stay as easy as possible: bus to get to the starting points and to return to Cahors (hourly guides available at the Tourist Office), accommodation, catering...

The Lot Valley is just waiting to welcome you with open arms!

Are you ready for the big adventure?

Take the road to Santiago de Compostela

Pilgrims crossing the Pont Valentré at Cahors
Pilgrims crossing the Pont Valentré at Cahors
J.Morel

The Lot opens its crossroads to pilgrims from all walks of life who follow the Way of Saint Jacques de Compostela.

Cahors is an unmissable stop on the main route of the road to Santiago de Compostela, the Via Podiensis.

Let's go!

Prefer to ride?

The Lot Valley by Bike

With its preserved landscapes, the destination Cahors - Lot Valley is the ideal territory for the practice of outdoor activities. So why not let yourself be tempted by an excursion or a cycling holiday? Whether you choose the road bike, mountain bike or VAE, this means of transport will allow you to discover the most intimate corners of the south of the Lot.

My favorites
Your favorites

En famille sur le chemin de halage de Bouziès à Saint-Cirq Lapopie
En famille sur le chemin de halage de Bouziès à Saint-Cirq Lapopie
J. Morel
Nos visites et ateliers pédagogiques
Nos visites et ateliers pédagogiques
J. Morel
A vélo dans les vignes sur la Véloroute Vallée du Lot
A vélo dans les vignes sur la Véloroute Vallée du Lot
P. Foresti - Mediart360
Pèlerins sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle
Pèlerins sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle
Lot Tourisme - G. Giuglio
Vous cherchez une promenade emblématique ?

Des itinéraires à couper le souffle

Évadez-vous sur les nombreux chemins qui vous mèneront à la découverte de paysages variés et authentiques de la Vallée du Lot.  
De l’univers minéral du causse avec ses murets en pierre sèche, caselles, mystérieux dolmens et petits sentiers bordés de chênes au sein du Parc Naturel Régional des Causses du Quercy jusqu’aux douces collines verdoyantes de la vallée du Vers en passant par les paysages viticoles et les hauteurs des falaises offrant des points de vue inoubliables, randonner en Vallée du Lot vous émerveillera ! 

 
Cette sélection de randonnées faciles ou plus sportives, toutes balisées en jaune, à découvrir seul(e), en couple ou en famille et en toutes saisons vous offrira un grand bol d’air en pleine nature !  

Le chemin de halage est l'une de nos promenades préférées. Taillé dans la roche entre Saint-Cirq Lapopie et Bouziès, le long de la rivière, laissez-vous surprendre par ce chemin de randonnée, merveille dans la nature, créée par l'homme.

Découvrez aussi...

Plage aux pterosaures
Plage aux pterosaures
Plage aux pterosaures
Pour vous préparer avant de franchir le pas...

Découvrez l’itinérance pédestre en Vallée du Lot ! 

Tout seul ou encore en famille, vous aimez la randonnée mais vous n’avez pas passé le cap de partir plusieurs jours ?  
Vous avez quelques craintes, et vous désirez tout d’abord essayer avant de vous lancer dans un grand périple tel que le pèlerinage de Compostelle ? Ou bien peut-être n’avez-vous qu’un week-end devant vous, mais vous souhaitez quand même en profiter pour marcher et vous ressourcer ?  
La vallée du Lot offre la possibilité de venir expérimenter l’itinérance pédestre durant un court séjour ! De 2 à 6 jours (ou plus si votre cœur est conquis), vous pourrez randonner au beau milieu des Causses du Quercy et du Quercy Blanc, avec ou sans voiture. Tout est en place pour faciliter votre aventure pédestre : train, bus, parkings gratuits, balisage et chemins de grande qualité... 

Pourquoi la destination Cahors Vallée du Lot ?

1
Pèlerin sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle
Pèlerin sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle
G. Giuglio

Pour la variété et la beauté de ses paysages !

Les paysages sur l’ensemble de la destination sont extrêmement variés. Vous y découvrirez des tableaux boisés, vallonnés, sauvages, champêtres, marqués par d’imposantes falaises aux dimensions époustouflantes... Tout est là pour susciter votre ébahissement !  

2
Gîte d'étape à Montcuq
Gîte d'étape à Montcuq
E. Faure

Pour les nombreux hébergements et services qui sont développés

Les locaux de la destination Cahors vallée du Lot accordent de l’importance aux voyageurs nomades arpentant leurs chemins, et ont même de l’affection pour eux ! Pour cette raison, de nombreux hébergements et autres services ont été mis en place afin de les accueillir convenablement. Vous trouverez donc tout ce dont vous avez besoin afin d’assurer le bon déroulement de votre séjour.  

Pour retrouver l’ensemble des services situés aux abords des chemins de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle, téléchargez le guide pèlerin ici.

 

3
Signalétique sur le GR65 à Cahors
Signalétique sur le GR65 à Cahors
M. Cochet

Pour la qualité du balisage

En vallée du Lot, la randonnée est l’une des activités phares, aussi bien pour les locaux que pour les visiteurs. En effet, nombreux sont les chemins permettant de délicieuses promenades ! Afin de savourer au mieux ces balades, un balisage très présent et parfaitement entretenu a été mis en place sur nos sentiers. En rouge et blanc pour les GR (chemins de Grande Randonnée) ou en jaune pour les PR (chemins de Petite Randonnée), ces signalisations vous permettront de marcher l’esprit léger.

4
Randonnée vers Limogne
Randonnée vers Limogne
S. Richard

Pour les personnes fabuleuses que vous rencontrerez en chemin !

Les différents sentiers de la vallée du Lot, et notamment le chemin de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle, vous permettront de rencontrer des personnes ouvertes et curieuses, avec des histoires passionnantes et émouvantes. Particulièrement ouverte, cette communauté de randonneurs itinérants est avide d’échanger dans la simplicité et la bienveillance.  

5
Pèlerins sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle
Pèlerins sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle
Lot Tourisme - G. Giuglio

Pour la facilité du chemin de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle

Parmi les nombreux sentiers de randonnées de la destination Cahors vallée du Lot, se trouvent les chemins de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle : la traditionnelle voie du Puy-en-Velay, et les variantes du Célé et de Rocamadour. La voie du Puy-en-Velay est la plus célèbre et la plus fréquentée, ce qui vous assure de trouver de nombreux services durant votre voyage, et d'être entouré en cas de difficultés ou si vous redoutez la solitude

6
Pont Valentré à Cahors
Pont Valentré à Cahors
Lot Tourisme - T. Verneuil

Pour son patrimoine riche, et les nombreuses activités touristiques présentes

Pour les marcheurs souhaitant aussi profiter de leurs vacances en visitant des lieux remarquables ou en essayant des activités ludiques, une multitude de choix s’offriront à vous durant votre séjour. De quoi ravir l’ensemble de la famille ! 

De quoi ravir l’ensemble de la famille !

Tout est en place en vallée du Lot pour vous assurer des journées de randonnées merveilleuses en pleine nature et de chaleureuses soirées. Pas de prise de tête, vous trouverez tous les services dont vous aurez besoin pour faciliter au mieux votre séjour : bus pour se rendre aux points de départ et pour retourner à Cahors (guides horaires disponibles à l'Office de Tourisme), hébergement, restauration...

La Vallée du Lot n’attend plus qu’à vous accueillir les bras grands ouverts !

Vous êtes prêts pour la grande aventure ?

Prenez la route de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle

Pèlerins traversant le Pont Valentré à Cahors
Pèlerins traversant le Pont Valentré à Cahors
J. Morel

Le Lot ouvre ses chemins de traverse aux pèlerins de tous horizons qui suivent le Chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle.

Cahors est une étape incontournable sur la voie principale du chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle, la Via Podiensis.

C'est parti !

Vous préférez rouler ?

La Vallée du Lot à Vélo

Avec ses paysages préservés, la destination Cahors - Vallée du Lot est le territoire idéal pour la pratique des activités de pleine nature. Alors pourquoi ne pas vous laisser tenter par une excursion ou un séjour à vélo ? Que vous choisissiez le vélo de route, le VTT ou le VAE, ce moyen de transport vous permettra de découvrir les recoins les plus intimes du sud du Lot.

Mes favoris
Vos coups de cœur