Explore

The most beautiful villages in the Lot Valley

Aerial view of Luzech and the Impernal tower
Aerial view of Luzech and the Impernal tower
C. Novello Gallery

Over the millennia, men have built and nature has sculpted extraordinary landscapes, always superbly preserved, which makes the Lot and its valley a preserved and peaceful place, full of wonders, testimony to a rich and living history in discover and visit.

Here, from upstream to downstream, is a selection of pretty villages where it is good to stop, stroll and enjoy!

Toulzania

Troglodyte house in the village of La Toulzanie
Troglodyte house in the village of La Toulzanie
V.Seguin

La Toulzanie is a hamlet in the village of Saint-Martin Labouval: it is located on the road leading from Cajarc to Saint-Cirq Lapopie. His particuliarity ? Troglodyte houses with a side in the cliff! As for Cabrerets, you cannot visit them, but admire them from the outside. The prettiest view? The one we have from the river. To do this, you must either rent a boat for the day in Bouziès, for example, or rent a canoe or a pedal boat at the Cénevières nautical base.

Saint-Cirq-Lapopie

The village of Saint-Cirq Lapopie at sunset
The village of Saint-Cirq Lapopie at sunset
@mavn_production

Discover this village camped on its rocky outcrop above the river: panorama, medieval history, artists, gastronomy... everything is gathered here. At its feet, a towpath punctuated by locks, a water mill and dug into the cliff on a portion. A nice flat walk in the cool summer. Don't feel like walking? You can do the same thing on an old-fashioned barge.

Visit Saint-Cirq-Lapopie

cabrerets

Troglodyte houses in Cabrerets
Troglodyte houses in Cabrerets
C. Novello

Nestled in the hollow of the cliffs in the Célé valley about ten km from Saint-Cirq Lapopie, the village of Cabrerets is worth the detour. At its feet flows a river, ideal for outdoor recreation such as canoeing, swimming or fishing for example! Remarkable cliffs surround you and also offer you a breathtaking view from the viewpoint (follow the yellow markings from the village).

Going down, there are also semi-troglodyte houses (a section is built in the rock): they are all private, but you can admire them from the outside.

Cabrerets is best known for its famous cave: Pech Merle, a must with its authentic 29000-year-old cave paintings and especially among the last real caves to visit in France!

To

At the confluence of Vers and Lot à Vers
At the confluence of Vers and Lot à Vers
L. Da Ascencao

The pretty village of Vers (Saint-Géry-Vers) is at the confluence of the Vers stream and the Lot river. Surrounded by pretty cliffs, you will discover the Château des Anglais on looking up (just like in Cabrerets or Bouziès) and the chapel of Velles as you leave towards Cahors. There was also a Roman aqueduct carved into the rock which allowed drinking water to be brought to Cahors. The village is also at the crossroads of St Jacques, between the GR46 coming from Rocamadour and the GR36 from Bouziès-St Cirq Lapopie.

Aujols

The butterfly washhouses in Aujols
The butterfly washhouses in Aujols
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello

Aujols is a village renowned for its small heritage. We discover a place with a typical washhouse of Quercy, butterfly so named because of its practical shape for washerwomen. The washing stones are arranged in a V shape and are typical of the Causse de Limogne. You can also find others, notably in Limogne-en-Quercy, Varaire, Escamps, Saillac and other villages. From Aujols, it is possible to hike: from wells to washhouses to discover the vernacular heritage, cross truffle fields, cazelles and of course, wells and washhouses...

Castelnau-Montratier

The bastide of Castelnau-Montratier, at the gates of Quercy Blanc
The bastide of Castelnau-Montratier, at the gates of Quercy Blanc
C. Novello

Stretched on a rocky promontory, Castelnau-Montratier raises the unusual dome of its church towards the sky, which can be spotted from afar.

Human occupation here dates back to the Gallo-Roman era, vestiges attest to this. Around the 10th century, a first castrum was built on the mound of Maurélis, 1,5 km from the village.

In the middle of the 11th century, a "new castle" named Castelnau-de-Vaux was built on the pech overlooking the Lupte valley. During the Albigensian war, Simon de Montfort would have had the castle razed in 1214. In 1250, the Lord of Ratier rebuilt the town and gave it his name. Built on the pattern of the bastides, new towns of the Middle Ages, it is organized around a large central square with covered areas and arcades (today Place Gambetta), an off-centre church, straight and parallel streets.

Over time, neighborhoods, or barris, developed on either side of the right street (today rue Clémenceau). A second rampart surrounds the village, except to the south, and one could enter it through five gates.

Montcuq

Sculpture of the Petit Montcuquois in the streets of Montcuq
Sculpture of the Petit Montcuquois in the streets of Montcuq
A. Auzanneau

This pretty Quercy Blanc village deserves your attention for many reasons. First of all thanks to Nino Ferrer, emblematic singer of the 60s. The village is inspiring, since many artists and craftsmen have settled there.

Montcuq can be visited by following the marked route which leads step by step through the medieval streets. Twinned windows, facades with arcades and timber framing, doors and remarkable lintels are all details that tell here and there the turbulent history of the village and give it an undeniable charm.

The Saint-Hilaire church, built at the end of the XNUMXth century and remodeled in the XNUMXth century, houses a set of brightly colored stained glass windows retracing the lives of Christ and Saint-Hilaire.

Visit Montcuq

Luzech

Aerial view of Luzech and the Impernal tower
Aerial view of Luzech and the Impernal tower
C. Novello

Luzech is a peninsula which forms one of the most spectacular sites in the Lot Valley.

The rocky outcrop which forms its backbone, dominated by the Impernal and Pistoule hills, is cut by the narrow isthmus shaped by the river.

The lowlands are rounded in the loop of the meander, facing the steep Cévennes of Teulettes. On the site of an old canal, which had been dug to avoid going all the way around the meander, we find the central square of the village.

Imperial Oppidum

Located north of Luzech, the rocky promontory of Impernal dominates the Lot Valley. Numerous excavation campaigns have taken place since the discovery of the site in 1872 by E. Castagne. They revealed three areas of built structures.

Alba

View of the village of Albas
View of the village of Albas
L. Da Ascencao

Albas, a picturesque village, enjoys a privileged location in contact with the vineyards and the river. This episcopal village is a stronghold built on the rock, pierced with caves and steeply over the river. Strategic point to watch the Lot, from the 11th century, the old castle, erected at the top of the cliff, manifested the power of the Lord Bishop of Cahors. Albas, peaceful village, where a real art of living is present, cradle of Cahors wine, well deserves its name "Albas la Jolie". Albas is also and above all a superb view of the Lot river and its vineyards.

Belaye

Aerial view of the village of Belaye and the Lot valley in autumn
Aerial view of the village of Belaye and the Lot valley in autumn
C. Novello

Located on a steep Cévennes, this former castrum of the bishops of Cahors offers one of the most remarkable views over the vineyards of Cahors and the island of Floiras (ENS). At the end of the village, the medieval fort offers a pleasant walk through its heritage: tower house of knights, remains of the episcopal castle and the castle of the co-lords, portal of the Sainte-Catherine church, in particular. At the entrance to the village, the imposing Great Church, partly included in the wall, retains a Baroque altarpiece brought back from Spain by Marshal Bessières during a Napoleonic campaign.

Prayssac

Aerial view of the village of Prayssac and its church on a market day
Aerial view of the village of Prayssac and its church on a market day
C. Bouthé - Vent d'Autan

Taking its name from a wealthy landowner from the Gallo-Roman era, "Priscius", the village of Prayssac was created in the 8th century around its church. The Neolithic civilizations have left marks of their passage. Thus, the dolmens of “la Bertrandoune”, “tres Peyres”, and “three stones” are the last vestiges of the burial places of men five millennia ago.

Prayssac also saw the birth of Marshal Bessière, Duke of Istrie, at the end of the 18th century.

Puy l'Eveque

As a couple at the Puy l'Evêque viewpoint
As a couple at the Puy l'Evêque viewpoint
A. Auzanneau

Built on a rocky outcrop, the medieval city can be explored both on foot thanks to the signposted route, and from the river aboard the barge. Its medieval houses in ocher stone rub shoulders with more recent developments, such as the hanging gardens. On leaving the city, let yourself be surprised by the know-how of the Virebent porcelain factory, a living heritage company.

Visit Puy l'Eveque

Duravel

Village of Duravel
Village of Duravel
Lot Tourisme - J. Morel

In Antiquity, Diolindum was an important Roman military station, located on the strategic route from Lyon to Bordeaux. Became Duravel in the Middle Ages, it housed a Cluniac priory: the Saint-Hilarion church, considered a major building of Romanesque art in Quercy. It retains a wide variety of sculpted Romanesque capitals, as well as an 11th century crypt. The medieval town retains part of the medieval walls (14th – 15th centuries) over 160m long.

Montcabrier

Saint-Louis church in Montcabrier
Saint-Louis church in Montcabrier
A. Auzanneau

By taking the road to Santiago de Compostela via the Rocamadour route, the walker will arrive at Montcabrier. This fortified royal bastide, founded in 1298 by Philippe le Bel, retains its orthogonal layout organized around a square square, lined with houses from the 14th to 16th centuries. Below the village, the cliffs offer a climbing site appreciated by amateurs and beginners alike.

My favorites
Your favorites

Explorez

Les plus beaux villages de la Vallée du Lot

Vue aérienne de Luzech et de la tour de l'Impernal
Vue aérienne de Luzech et de la tour de l'Impernal
C. Novello Galerie

Au fil des millénaires, les hommes ont bâti et la nature a sculpté des paysages extraordinaires, toujours superbement conservés, ce qui fait du Lot et de sa vallée un lieu préservé et paisible, empli de merveilles, témoignage d'une histoire riche et vivante à découvrir et à visiter.

Voici, d'amont en aval, une sélection de jolis villages où il fait bon s'arrêter, flâner, profiter !

Saint-Cirq Lapopie

Le village de Saint-Cirq Lapopie au coucher du soleil
Le village de Saint-Cirq Lapopie au coucher du soleil
@mavn_production

Découvrir ce village campé sur son éperon rocheux au-dessus de la rivière : panorama, histoire médiévale, artistes, gastronomie… tout est réuni ici. À ses pieds, un chemin de halage rythmé d’écluses, d’un moulin à eau et creusé dans la falaise sur une portion. Une belle promenade à plat à la fraîche l’été. Pas envie de marcher ? On peut faire la même chose sur une gabare à l’ancienne.

Visitez Saint-Cirq Lapopie

Puy l'Évêque

En amoureux au point de vue sur Puy l'Evêque
En amoureux au point de vue sur Puy l'Evêque
A. Auzanneau

Edifiée sur un éperon rocheux, la cité médiévale se découvre aussi bien à pied grâce au parcours fléché, que depuis la rivière à bord de la gabare. Ses maisons médiévales en pierres ocre côtoient des aménagements plus récents, tels que les jardins suspendus. A la sortie de la ville, laissez-vous surprendre par le savoir-faire de la manufacture de porcelaine Virebent, entreprise du patrimoine vivant.

Visitez Puy l'Évêque

Montcuq

Sculpture du Petit Montcuquois dans les rues de Montcuq
Sculpture du Petit Montcuquois dans les rues de Montcuq
A. Auzanneau

Ce joli village du Quercy Blanc mérite votre attention pour beaucoup de raisons. Tout d'abord grâce à Nino Ferrer, chanteur emblématique des années 60. Le village est inspirant, puisque de nombreux artistes et artisans d’art s’y sont installés.

Montcuq se visite en suivant l'itinéraire balisé qui mène pas à pas à travers les ruelles médiévales. Fenêtres géminées, façades à arcades et pans de bois, portes et linteaux remarquables sont autant de détails qui racontent ici et là l'histoire mouvementée du village et lui confèrent un indéniable charme.

L’église Saint-Hilaire, édifiée à la fin du XIIIè siècle et remaniée au XVIIIè siècle, abrite un ensemble de vitraux aux couleurs vives retraçant les vies du Christ et de Saint-Hilaire.

Visitez Montcuq

Cabrerets

Maisons troglodytes à Cabrerets
Maisons troglodytes à Cabrerets
C. Novello

Niché au creux des falaises dans la vallée du Célé à une dizaine de km de Saint-Cirq Lapopie, le village de Cabrerets vaut le détour. A ses pieds coule une rivière, idéale pour les loisirs de pleine nature comme le canoë, la baignade ou la pêche par exemple ! Des falaises remarquables vous entourent et vous offrent également une vue à couper le souffle, depuis le point de vue (suivre le balisage jaune depuis le village).

En redescendant, il y a aussi des maisons semi-troglodytes (un pan est construit dans la roche), : elles sont toutes privées, mais on peut les admirer de l'extérieur.

Cabrerets est surtout connu pour sa célèbre grotte : Pech Merle, incontournable avec ses peintures rupestres authentiques de 29000 ans et surtout parmi les dernières véritables grottes à visiter en France !

Vers

À la confluence du Vers et du Lot à Vers
À la confluence du Vers et du Lot à Vers
L. Da Ascençao

Le joli village de Vers (Saint-Géry-Vers) est au confluent du ruisseau le Vers et la rivière Lot. Entouré par de jolies falaises, on y découvre le château des anglais en levant les yeux (tout comme à Cabrerets ou Bouziès) et la chapelle de Velles à sa sortie en direction de Cahors. Il y avait aussi un aqueduc romain taillé dans la roche qui permettait d'acheminer l'eau potable jusqu'à Cahors. Le village est aussi à la croisée des chemins de St Jacques, entre le GR46 venant de Rocamadour et le GR36 depuis Bouziès-St Cirq Lapopie.

Aujols

Les lavoirs papillons à Aujols
Les lavoirs papillons à Aujols
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello

Aujols est un village réputé pour son petit patrimoine. On découvre une place avec un lavoir typique du Quercy, papillon nommé ainsi en raison de sa forme pratique pour les lavandières. Les pierres à laver sont disposées en forme de V et sont typiques du Causse de Limogne. On peut également en trouver d'autres notamment à Limogne-en-Quercy, Varaire, Escamps, Saillac et d'autres villages. Au départ d'Aujols, il est possible de faire une randonnée : de puits en lavoirs pour découvrir le patrimoine vernaculaire, croiser des truffières, cazelles et bien sûr, puits et lavoirs...

Castelnau-Montratier

La bastide de Castelnau-Montratier, aux portes du Quercy Blanc
La bastide de Castelnau-Montratier, aux portes du Quercy Blanc
C. Novello

Étirée sur un promontoire rocheux, Castelnau-Montratier dresse vers le ciel la coupole insolite de son église, qui se repère de loin.

L'occupation humaine remonte ici à l'époque gallo-romaine, des vestiges en attestent. Vers le 10è siècle, un premier castrum est édifié sur la butte de Maurélis, à 1,5 km du village.

Au milieu du 11e siècle, un «château neuf» du nom de Castelnau-de-Vaux est édifié sur le pech dominant la vallée de la Lupte. Lors de la guerre des Albigeois, Simon de Montfort aurait fait raser le château en 1214. En 1250, le Seigneur de Ratier reconstruit la ville et lui donne son nom. Bâtie sur le schéma des bastides, villes nouvelles du Moyen Age, elle s’organise autour d’une grande place centrale à couverts et arcades (aujourd'hui place Gambetta), une église excentrée, des rues droites et parallèles.

Au fil du temps, des quartiers, ou barris, se développent de part et d'autre de la rue droite (aujourd'hui rue Clémenceau). Un second rempart ceinture le village, excepté au sud, et on pouvait y pénétrer par cinq portes.

Luzech

Vue aérienne de Luzech et de la tour de l'Impernal
Vue aérienne de Luzech et de la tour de l'Impernal
C. Novello

Luzech est une presqu’île qui forme un des sites les plus spectaculaires de la Vallée du Lot.

L’éperon rocheux qui constitue son épine dorsale, dominé par les collines de l’Impernal et de la Pistoule, est coupé par l’isthme étroit modelé par la rivière.

Les basses terres viennent s’arrondir dans la boucle du méandre, face à l’abrupte cévenne de Teulettes. Sur l’emplacement d’un ancien canal, qui avait été creusé pour éviter de faire le tour complet du méandre, nous y retrouvons la place centrale du village.

Oppidum de l'Impernal

Situé au nord de Luzech, le promontoire rocheux de l'Impernal domine la Vallée du Lot. De nombreuses campagnes de fouilles se sont succédées depuis la découverte du site en 1872 par E. Castagne. Elles ont permis de mettre au jour trois zones de structures bâties.

Albas

Vue sur le village d'Albas
Vue sur le village d'Albas
L. Da Ascençao

Albas, village pittoresque, bénéficie d’une situation privilégiée au contact du vignoble et de la rivière. Cette bourgade épiscopale est une place forte bâtie sur la roche, percée de grottes et en à-pic sur la rivière. Point stratégique pour surveiller le Lot, dès le 11ème siècle, l’ancien château, dressé au sommet de la falaise, manifestait le pouvoir du Seigneur Évêque de Cahors. Albas, paisible village, où un réel art de vivre est présent, berceau du vin de Cahors, mérite bien son nom « Albas la Jolie ». Albas c'est aussi et surtout un superbe point de vue sur la rivière Lot et son vignoble.

Bélaye

Vue aérienne du village de Belaye et de la vallée du Lot en automne
Vue aérienne du village de Belaye et de la vallée du Lot en automne
C. Novello

Situé sur une cévenne abrupte, cet ancien castrum des évêques de Cahors offre un des plus remarquables panoramas sur le vignoble de Cahors et l’île de Floiras (ENS). À l’extrémité du village, le fort médiéval offre une promenade agréable à travers son patrimoine : maison-tour de chevaliers, vestiges du château épiscopal et du château des coseigneurs, portail de l’église Sainte-Catherine, notamment. À l’entrée du village, l’imposante église Grande, en partie incluse dans la muraille, conserve un retable baroque rapporté d’Espagne par le Maréchal Bessières, lors d’une campagne napoléonienne.

Duravel

Village de Duravel
Village de Duravel
Lot Tourisme - J. Morel

À l’Antiquité, Diolindum était une importante station militaire romaine, située sur la voie stratégique de Lyon à Bordeaux. Devenue Duravel au Moyen Âge, elle abrita un prieuré clunisien : l’église Saint-Hilarion, considérée comme un édifice majeur de l’art roman en Quercy. Elle conserve une grande variété de chapiteaux romans sculptés, ainsi qu’une crypte du 11ème siècle. Le bourg médiéval conserve une partie de l’enceinte médiévale (14ème – 15ème siècles) sur 160m de long.

Montcabrier

Eglise Saint-Louis à Montcabrier
Eglise Saint-Louis à Montcabrier
A. Auzanneau

En empruntant le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle par la voie de Rocamadour, le marcheur arrivera à Montcabrier. Cette bastide royale fortifiée, fondée en 1298 par Philippe le Bel, conserve son tracé orthogonal organisé autour d’une place carrée, bordée de maisons du 14e au 16e siècle. En contrebas du bourg, les falaises offrent un site d’escalade apprécié des amateurs comme des débutants.

Prayssac

Vue aérienne du village de Prayssac et de son église un jour de marché
Vue aérienne du village de Prayssac et de son église un jour de marché
C. Bouthé - Vent d'Autan

Tenant son nom d’un riche propriétaire terrien de l’époque Gallo-Romaine, « Priscius », le village de Prayssac est créé au 8ème siècle autour de son église. Les civilisations Néolithiques ont laissé des marques de leur passage. Ainsi, les dolmens de « la Bertrandoune », des « tres Peyres », et des « trois Pierres » sont les derniers vestiges des lieux de sépulture des hommes d’il y a cinq millénaires.

Prayssac a vu aussi naître le Maréchal Bessière, duc d’Istrie, à la fin du 18ème siècle.

La Toulzanie

Maison troglodytes dans le village de La Toulzanie
Maison troglodytes dans le village de La Toulzanie
V. Seguin

La Toulzanie est un hameau du village de Saint-Martin Labouval : il est situé sur la route menant de Cajarc à Saint-Cirq Lapopie. Sa particularité ? Des maisons troglodytes avec un pan dans la falaise ! Comme pour Cabrerets, on ne peut pas les visiter, mais les admirer depuis l'extérieur. La plus jolie vue ? Celle que l'on a depuis la rivière. Pour cela, il faut soit louer un bateau à la journée à Bouziès par exemple, soit louer un canoë ou un pédalo à la base nautique de Cénevières.

Mes favoris
Vos coups de cœur