Explore

Saint-Cirq-Lapopie

Saint-Cirq-Lapopie
Saint-Cirq-Lapopie
T.Verneuil Gallery
Duration 3h
For the whole family

Peyrolerie Gate

Gate and alley in Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Gate and alley in Saint-Cirq Lapopie
J.Morel

Originally in the axis of the rue de la Peyrolerie, remains of a door once defended by a portcullis.

Medieval bourgeois houses

Medieval bourgeois houses of Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Medieval bourgeois houses of Saint-Cirq Lapopie
J.Morel

13th and 14th century arcaded and half-timbered houses at the corner of the square. The current half-timbered floor is the result of a transformation at the end of the 15th century. The ground floor was wide open on the Place du Sombral, where the market has been held since the 13th century, but also on the main shopping street, Rue Droite or Grand Rue. Opposite, on the other side of the street, a succession of 5 arcades and 4 pointed arch doors. It is a series of houses on the ground floor serving as shops, built in the 13th or 14th century, according to the same module.

House of the Fourdonne

House of the Fourdonne in Saint-Cirq Lapopie
House of the Fourdonne in Saint-Cirq Lapopie
F.Laparra

Open-air theater and garden, along a lane paved with pebbles, crossed by boxes (vaults). The Town Hall and La Poste are now installed there.

Maisons Daura, international artist residency

Daura houses in Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Daura houses in Saint-Cirq Lapopie
V.Seguin

In this 15th century medieval house with small windows and trefoil arches, was the studio of the Catalan-born painter Pierre Daura. Characterized by windows with columns and trefoil tracery opening in the corner onto the Grand Rue. Extended in the 16th or XNUMXth century, along the Ruelle de la Fourdonne, it presents a series of joists sculpted by Pierre Daura under the timber frame with the cross of Saint-André. Today it is an international artists' residence, hosted by the Occitanie Region.

The seigniorial fort

On the narrow rocky outcrop overlooking the Lot valley and the medieval town, lies the fort of Saint-Cirq Lapopie. From the 3th century, the fort was shared between XNUMX families of dominant lords: the Lapopies, the Cardaillacs and the Gourdons. The site has been abandoned since the XNUMXth century, in favor of more “convenient” residences.

La Popie rock

Rock of La Popie overlooking Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Rock of La Popie overlooking Saint-Cirq Lapopie
R. Dose

At the highest point of the cliff, the popie (from the Occitan "popa", breast-shaped promontory) supported the first castle on the site, built in the 10th century and rebuilt in the 12th century. The foundations of the master tower and the seigniorial dwelling which dominated the fort remain, as well as the remains of a fortified gate of the enclosure. The top of the rock and the belvedere set up below offer views over the entire valley.

The Cardaillac castle

Near the church, ruins of a fortified residence with a main building leaning on a Romanesque keep with buttresses. Built inside the old barnyard of the fort between the beginning of the 13th and the 14th century, it is attributed to the Cardaillacs, who are part of the co-seigneurs of the place. It was modernized in the 15th century, before being gradually abandoned by the lords, following several destructions ordered by Louis XI, Charles VIII and Henri de Navarre. The terraces of the castle offer a beautiful view over the rooftops of the village.

Woodturning

Woodturning developed in the village before the 40th century, then became the dominant activity in the 19th century, in connection with the development of viticulture and the regional wine trade. Turners or "roubinetaïres" mass-produced barrel taps until the dawn of the XNUMXth century. They were up to XNUMX craftsmen in the village. The wood of the causses provided a material of choice for the turners, who made goblets, molds for buttons, bowls, then, from the XNUMXth century, taps for barrels, in particular for the barrels transporting Cahors wine by river and who contributed to the fame of the roubinétaïres of Saint-Cirq Lapopie throughout France.

The church of Saint-Cirq Lapopie

Saint-Cirq-Lapopie
Saint-Cirq-Lapopie
F.Laparra

Dedicated to Saint-Cyr (origin of the "Cirq" of Saint-Cirq Lapopie) and Sainte-Julitte his mother. He was the youngest martyr of Christianity (about 3 years old). It was Saint-Amadour who brought the relics back to France. The Gothic church, which was built from 1522, included the old Romanesque parish church. It retains the remains of its sculpted decoration with acanthus leaves from the 12th century, as well as fragments of wall paintings from the XNUMXth century. One of the side chapels of the church is dedicated to Saint Catherine, patron saint of wood turners. Near the gate, at the foot of the fortified bell tower, is preserved one of the stone measures that regulated the sale of grain in the market. On the back of the church, terraces and a view over the valley.

"Castle of Saint-Cirq Lapopie"

Castle of Saint-Cirq-Lapopie
Castle of Saint-Cirq-Lapopie
V.Seguin

XNUMXth century mansion.

Rignault House

Rignault House in Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Rignault House in Saint-Cirq Lapopie
V.Seguin

Old crenellated fortified house from the XNUMXth century, located on the edge of the cliff. Built below the fort by Lord Hébrard de Saint-Sulpice, who would have moved his residence outside the seigniorial enclosure. Magnificently restored by the art lover Joseph Rignault, it now houses an exhibition space linked to the Maison Breton, its neighbour. It also offers visitors magnificent gardens, which offer a breathtaking view of the Lot valley.

The inn of sailors Maison André Breton

Breton house in Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Breton house in Saint-Cirq Lapopie
V.Seguin

Characterized by the association of a dwelling and a tower, this fortified house with Gothic windows is representative of the houses of knights, which overlooked the valley, near the fort. This house is the oldest in the village, it dates from the XNUMXth century and its tower from the XNUMXth century. It was once the home of the surrealist writer, André Breton. Listed House of the Illustrious.

Carol Square

Bordered by the garden and the dovecote watchtower of the painter Henri Martin, this square offers a view of the plain of Tour-de-Faure. Start of a path descending towards the banks and the medieval mill of Aulanac, near the lock.

Rue de la Pelissaria

Rue de la Pélissaria in Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Rue de la Pélissaria in Saint-Cirq Lapopie
V.Seguin

Half-timbered two-storey houses from the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries. Lower down, near the Porte de la Pélissaria, a fine series of houses with arcaded stalls from the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries evoke the activity of the
skinners, who are the origin of the name given to the street.

Gate of Pelissaria

Porte de la Pélissaria at the foot of Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Porte de la Pélissaria at the foot of Saint-Cirq Lapopie
S. Majada @invitada_perfecta

At the end of rue de la Pélissaria, which extends rue Droite, the last city gate, sometimes called the Rocamadour gate, is the best preserved. It echoes the Porte de la Peyrolerie - known as Cahors - whose remains are still visible on the opposite side of the village, at the entrance to the rue Droite.

Focus on... the towpath

From the Middle Ages to the 20th century, the Lot made it possible to transport goods at a lower cost. The barges transported iron ore or coal from neighboring Aveyron and local products to Bordeaux: cereals, tobacco and Cahors wine, before returning to our countryside with cargoes of salt, manufactured products and stockfish (cod dried). To go up the current of the Lot, the gabarres (flat-bottomed boats) were pulled in convoy by men or draft animals. At the height of the Ganil lock, the cliff falls steeply into the river. This peculiarity forced men to hollow out the limestone rock of the cliff, to allow the circulation of animals. This work of art extends over almost a kilometer between Bouziès and Saint-Cirq Lapopie.

In 1985 and 2019, Daniel Monnier, a sculptor from Toulouse, undertook the creation of a bas-relief in the hollow side of the towpath.

Over 30 meters long, you can admire its representation of the river, its environment with its fauna, flora, rocks, fossils and whirlpools.

Saint-Cirq Lapopie towpath
Saint-Cirq Lapopie towpath
V.Seguin
My favorites
Your favorites

Explorez

Saint-Cirq Lapopie

Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Saint-Cirq Lapopie
T. Verneuil Galerie
Durée 3h
Pour toute la famille

Porte de la Peyrolerie

Porte et ruelle à Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Porte et ruelle à Saint-Cirq Lapopie
J. Morel

À l’origine dans l’axe de la rue de la Peyrolerie, vestiges d’une porte autrefois défendue par une herse.

Maisons bourgeoises médiévales

Maisons bourgeoises médiévales de Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Maisons bourgeoises médiévales de Saint-Cirq Lapopie
J. Morel

Maisons à arcades et pans de bois des 13ème et 14ème siècles à l’angle de la place. L’étage en pans de bois actuel, résulte d’une transformation de la fin du 15ème siècle. Le rez-dechaussée était largement ouvert sur la place du Sombral, où se tient le marché depuis le 13ème siècle, mais également sur la rue marchande principale, la rue Droite ou Grand Rue. En face, de l’autre côté de la rue, succession de 5 arcades et de 4 portes en arcs brisés. Il s’agit d’une série de maisons à rez-de-chaussée servant de boutiques, construites au 13ème ou au 14ème siècle, selon un même module.

Maison de la Fourdonne

Maison de la Fourdonne à Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Maison de la Fourdonne à Saint-Cirq Lapopie
F. Laparra - Office de tourisme - Cahors vallée du Lot

Théâtre de plein air et jardin, que longe une ruelle pavée de galets, franchie par des botes (voûtes). La Mairie et La Poste y sont maintenant installées.

Maisons Daura, résidence internationale d’artistes

Maisons Daura à Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Maisons Daura à Saint-Cirq Lapopie
V. Seguin

Dans cette maison médiévale du XIIIème siècle avec fenêtres à colonnettes et arcs trilobés, se situait l’atelier du peintre d’origine catalane Pierre Daura. Caractérisée par des fenêtres à colonnette et remplage trilobé ouvrant dans l’angle sur la Grand Rue. Agrandie au 15ème ou 16ème siècle, le long de la ruelle de la Fourdonne, elle présente une série de solives sculptées par Pierre Daura sous le pan de bois à croix de SaintAndré. Aujourd’hui c’est une résidence internationale d’artistes, animée par la Région Occitanie.

Le fort seigneurial

Sur l’étroit éperon rocheux surplombant la vallée du Lot et le bourg médiéval, s’étend le fort de Saint-Cirq Lapopie. Dès le XIIIème siècle, le fort se partage entre 3 familles de seigneurs dominants : les Lapopie, les Cardaillac et les Gourdon. Le site a été abandonné depuis le XVIème siècle, au profit de demeures plus « commodes ».

Le rocher des La Popie

Rocher des La Popie surplombant Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Rocher des La Popie surplombant Saint-Cirq Lapopie
R. Dose - Office de tourisme - Cahors vallée du Lot

Au point culminant de la falaise, la popie (de l’occitan « popa », promontoire en forme de mamelle) supportait le premier château du site, construit au 10ème siècle et remanié au 12ème siècle. Subsistent les soubassements de la tour maîtresse et du logis seigneurial qui dominait le fort, ainsi que les vestiges d’une porte fortifiée de l’enceinte. Le sommet du rocher et le belvédère aménagé en contre-bas offrent des points de vue sur l’ensemble de la vallée.

Le château des Cardaillac

Près de l’église, ruines d’une demeure fortifiée avec un corps de logis appuyé sur un donjon roman à contreforts. Construit à l’intérieur de l’ancienne basse-cour du fort entre le début du 13ème et le 14ème siècle, il est attribué aux Cardaillac, qui font partie des coseigneurs du lieu. Il est modernisé au 15ème siècle, avant d’être peu à peu abandonné par les seigneurs, à la suite de plusieurs destructions ordonnées par Louis XI, Charles VIII et Henri de Navarre. Les terrasses du château offrent une belle vue sur les toits du village.

Le tournage sur bois

Le tournage sur bois se développe dans le village avant le XVème siècle, puis devient l’activité dominante au XIXème siècle, en lien avec le développement de la viticulture et du commerce régional du vin. Les tourneurs ou « roubinetaïres » fabriquent des robinets de barrique en série, jusqu’à l’aube du XXème siècle. Ils ont été jusqu’à 40 artisans dans le village. Le bois des causses fournissait un matériau de choix aux tourneurs, qui fabriquaient des gobelets, des moules de boutons, des écuelles, puis, dès le 19ème siècle, des robinets de tonneaux, notamment pour les tonneaux acheminant le vin de Cahors par voie fluviale et qui contribuèrent à la renommée des roubinétaïres de Saint-Cirq Lapopie dans la France entière.

L’église de Saint-Cirq Lapopie

Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Saint-Cirq Lapopie
F. Laparra - Office de tourisme - Cahors vallée du Lot

Dédiée à Saint-Cyr (origine du « Cirq » de Saint-Cirq Lapopie) et Sainte-Julitte sa mère. Il fut le martyr le plus jeune de la chrétienté (3 ans environ). C’est Saint-Amadour qui en ramena les reliques en France. L’église gothique, qui fut édifiée à partir de 1522, a englobé l’ancienne église paroissiale romane. Celle-ci conserve les vestiges de son décor sculpté à feuilles d’acanthe du 12ème siècle, ainsi que des fragments de peintures murales du XIIIème siècle. Une des chapelles latérales de l’église est consacrée à Sainte-Catherine, patronne des tourneurs sur bois. Près du portail, au pied du clocher fortifié, est conservée l’une des mesures de pierre qui règlementait la vente des grains sur le marché. Au revers de l’église, terrasses et point de vue sur la vallée.

« Château de Saint-Cirq Lapopie »

Château de Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Château de Saint-Cirq Lapopie
V. Seguin

Hôtel particulier du XVIème siècle.

Centre International du Surréalisme et de la Citoyenneté Mondiale

Maison Breton à Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Maison Breton à Saint-Cirq Lapopie
V. Seguin - Office de tourisme - Cahors vallée du Lot

Le Centre International du Surréalisme et de la Citoyenneté Mondiale se déploie sur les Maison Emile Joseph-Rignault et André Breton, reliées toutes les deux par une passerelle servant d’espaces d’expositions ouverts au public.

La Maison Rignault, ancienne maison forte crénelée du XVème siècle, implantée sur le rebord de la falaise. Bâtie en contrebas du fort par le seigneur Hébrard de Saint-Sulpice, qui aurait déplacé sa résidence à l’extérieur de l’enceinte seigneuriale. Magnifiquement restaurée par l’amateur d’art Joseph Rignault,elle propose aussi aux visiteurs des jardins suspendus magnifiques, qui offrent une vue imprenable sur la vallée du Lot.

La Maison André Breton, caractérisée par l’association d’un logis et d’une tour, cette maison forte aux fenêtres gothiques est représentative des maisons de chevaliers, qui surplombaient la vallée, près du fort. Cette maison est la plus ancienne du village, elle date du XIIIᵉ et sa tour du XIIᵉ siècle. Elle fut autrefois la maison de l’écrivain surréaliste, André Breton. Classée Maison des illustres.

Place du Carol

Bordée par le jardin et le pigeonnier mirador du peintre Henri Martin, cette place offre un point de vue sur la plaine de Tour-de-Faure. Départ d’un sentier descendant vers les berges et le moulin médiéval d’Aulanac, près de l’écluse.

Rue de la Pélissaria

Rue de la Pélissaria à Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Rue de la Pélissaria à Saint-Cirq Lapopie
V. Seguin - Office de tourisme - Cahors vallée du Lot

Maisons à étage en pans de bois des XVème et XVIème siècles. Plus bas, à proximité de la porte de la Pélissaria, une belle série de maisons à arcades d’échoppes des XVème et XVIIème siècles évoque l’activité des
peaussiers, qui sont à l’origine du nom donné à la rue.

Porte de la Pélissaria

Porte de la Pélissaria au pied de Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Porte de la Pélissaria au pied de Saint-Cirq Lapopie
S. Majada @invitada_perfecta

À l’extrémité de la rue de la Pélissaria, qui prolonge la rue Droite, la dernière porte de la ville, appelée parfois porte de Rocamadour, est la mieux conservée. Elle fait écho à la porte de la Peyrolerie - dite de Cahors - dont les vestiges sont encore visibles à l’opposé du bourg, à l’entrée de la rue Droite.

Zoom sur... le chemin de halage

Du Moyen Âge au 20ème siècle, le Lot permet d’assurer à moindre coût le transport des marchandises. Les gabarres acheminaient vers Bordeaux le minerai de fer ou de charbon de l’Aveyron voisin et les productions locales : céréales, tabac et vin de Cahors, avant de remonter vers nos campagnes avec des cargaisons de sel, de produits manufacturés et de stockfish (morue séchée). Pour remonter le courant du Lot, les gabarres (bateaux à fond plat) étaient tirées en convoi par des hommes ou des animaux de trait. À la hauteur de l’écluse de Ganil, la falaise tombe à pic dans la rivière. Cette particularité a contraint les hommes à évider la roche calcaire de la falaise, pour permettre la circulation des animaux. Cet ouvrage d’art s’étend sur près d’un kilomètre entre Bouziès et Saint-Cirq Lapopie.

En 1985 et 2019, Daniel Monnier, sculpteur toulousain, entreprend la réalisation d’un bas-relief dans le flanc creusé du chemin de halage.

Sur 30 mètres de long, vous pouvez admirer sa représentation de la rivière, son environnement avec sa faune, sa flore, ses roches, ses fossiles et ses tourbillons.

Chemin de halage de Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Chemin de halage de Saint-Cirq Lapopie
V. Seguin - Office de tourisme - Cahors vallée du Lot
Mes favoris
Vos coups de cœur
Favoris
Ajouter à mes favoris
Vous aimerez sûrement