Panorama of Cahors
Panorama of Cahors
Boulevard Gambetta in Cahors
Boulevard Gambetta in Cahors
Boulevard Gambetta in Cahors
Boulevard Gambetta in Cahors
The town hall and the boulevard Gambetta in Cahors
The town hall and the boulevard Gambetta in Cahors
In and around Cahors
From the historic center to the Pont Valentré, from the remains of the amphitheater to the Grand Boulevard, Cahors reveals itself to the curious visitor. Explore its every nook and cranny, observe it from the top of Mont Saint-Cyr, surprise it at the corner of an alley... Don't deprive yourself: the city is just waiting to reveal its secrets to you.

Ancient Cahors: Divona Cadurcorum

Take to the skies and contemplate Cahors from the sky: medieval town and modern town rub shoulders at the heart of a meander formed by the river Lot, which surrounds them, protects them and contains them inside the peninsula.

But what the untrained eye cannot perceive is the ancient city hidden below the surface: Divona Cadurcorum, capital of the Romanized Cadourques, equipped with thermal baths, an amphitheater, a temple and many houses adorned with mosaics. To try to detect it, we must go back before our era and leave the cingle for a moment.

On the left bank of the Lot, a Gallic people, the caourques, worships the goddess of springs Divona, through a great natural resurgence dedicated to it. In 51 BC, the territory of the Cadourques was annexed to the Roman Empire following the last battle of the Gallic Wars at Uxellodunum, in the north of the current department. In the 1st century, the Emperor Augustus thus founded a city inside the cingle to administer this new territory: Divona Cadurcorum.

Now buried under the modern city, the ancient city continues to reveal itself to the rhythm of archaeological excavations. Vestiges of its rich past emerge in places, such as thearch of diane or a piece of wall amphitheater.

Chartreux fountain in Cahors
Chartreux fountain in Cahors
E.Faure

Medieval Cahors

If there is one era that is still very significant in Cahors, it is the Middle Ages. For a first glimpse, nothing better than putting on your hiking boots to climb to the top of Mont Saint-Cyr: the medieval town now extends under your feet, narrowed in the eastern part of the meander.

From this point of view, it is easy to distinguish the contours of the walls built in the 7th century by Bishop Saint-Didier, now materialized by the large boulevard which cuts the city in two. Inside, the historic centre, sometimes referred to as the "conservatory of medieval houses in France", is home to many merchant houses, witnesses of the golden age of Cadurci.

This golden age is that of the emergence of Caorsins, between the middle of the 12th and 14th centuries. Those loan sharks practice trade and lending at interest throughout the world, and thus participate in the economic prosperity of the city. It's also the time to University founded by the cadurcien Jacques Duezes, consecrated pope in Avignon in 1316 under the name of John XXII.

It is to the Middle Ages that we owe the great buildings that made Cahors famous. In the 12th century, work began on the St. Stephen's Cathedral, whose domes stand out distinctly in the middle of the historic center. Looking a little further, go up to the three towers of the Valentre bridge, built 2 centuries later by the consuls of the city. Both are linked by the via Podensis, one of the routes on the way to Santiago de Compostela, listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Porte Saint-Michel in the northern wall of Cahors
Porte Saint-Michel in the northern wall of Cahors

Renaissance Cahors, Modern Cahors

Now is the time to put on your boots again, go down the hill and rush into the historic center to admire the medieval buildings more closely, but also to discover Cahors the modern.

At first glance, the Renaissance is discreet in the streets of Cahors. With the exception of Saint John Archdeaconry and Roaldes hotel, rare are the examples of architecture richly decorated with splendor motifs with Italian influences. And yet, the modern period is very present in the streets of the city.

The 16th century is the time of the radiation of university and colleges, the establishment of printers contributing to economic and intellectual prosperity. It is also the time that sees the birth of poets with humanist ideals, whose verses still permeate the Caduran atmosphere today: Olivier de Magny et Clement Marot.

A century later, in the 17th century, came the time for the development of legal administrations, whose representatives acquired beautiful residences which they hastened to modernise. great baroque portals still line the streets of the historic center and bear witness to the taste of the times. Any clue to find them? You will recognize them by their sculpted stone frame, framing a wooden door with rich and exuberant decorations. Be patient ; as Clément Marot said “Everything comes at the right time to those who know how to wait”.

Post-revolutionary Cahors

Now dare to venture outside the medieval city walls. You are on the Boulevard Léon Gambetta, named in honor of the illustrious Cadurcien, who participated in the founding of the 3rd Republic. Welcome to post-revolutionary Cahors, which has become the prefecture of a rural department: the Lot.

The 19th century is the time of entry into theindustrial age and major urban works. Everywhere in France, cities are changing to integrate the concerns of the times: improving quality of life and public hygiene. Cahors is no exception to the rule. Along the newly pierced grand boulevard, rise buildings of power, leisure and education: theater, Bookcases, City Hall, courthouse et girl's high school.

Opposite the medieval town, a pumping station was erected to supply Cahors with drinking water by capturing water from the Chartreux fountain. Now transformed into an exhibition space (Maison de l'eau), the building with neo-classical forms still stands alongside the famous Pont Valentré on the banks of the river.

Not far from here, a metal bridge was built to allow the passage of the new railway line, linking Cahors to Montauban.

To find out more...

My favorites
Your favorites

Panorama sur Cahors
Panorama sur Cahors
Le boulevard Gambetta à Cahors
Le boulevard Gambetta à Cahors
Le boulevard Gambetta à Cahors
Le boulevard Gambetta à Cahors
L'hôtel de ville et le boulevard Gambetta à Cahors
L'hôtel de ville et le boulevard Gambetta à Cahors
Au cœur et aux alentours de Cahors
Du centre historique au Pont Valentré, des vestiges de l’amphithéâtre au grand boulevard, Cahors se dévoile au visiteur curieux. Sillonnez ses moindres recoins, observez-là du haut du mont Saint-Cyr, surprenez-là au coin d’une ruelle… Ne vous privez pas : la ville ne demande qu’à vous livrer ses secrets.

Cahors antique : Divona Cadurcorum

Prenez de la hauteur et contemplez Cahors depuis le ciel : ville médiévale et ville moderne se côtoient au cœur d’un méandre formé par la rivière Lot, qui les enserre, les protège et les contient à l’intérieur de la presqu’ile.

Mais ce que l’œil inaverti ne peut percevoir, c’est la ville antique dissimulée sous la surface : Divona Cadurcorum, capitale des cadourques romanisés, pourvue de thermes, d’un amphithéâtre, d’un temple et de moult maisons parées de mosaïque. Pour tenter de la déceler, il nous faut remonter avant notre ère et quitter le cingle un instant.

Sur la rive gauche du Lot, un peuple gaulois, les cadourques, voue un culte à la déesse des sources Divona, à travers une grande résurgence naturelle qui lui est dédiée. En 51 avant J.C., le territoire des cadourques est annexé à l’Empire romain suite à la dernière bataille de la guerre des Gaules à Uxellodunum, dans le nord du département actuel. Au 1er siècle, l’Empereur Auguste fonde ainsi une ville à l’intérieur du cingle pour administrer ce nouveau territoire : Divona Cadurcorum.

Désormais ensevelie sous la ville moderne, la ville antique continue de se révéler au rythme des fouilles archéologiques. Des vestiges de son riche passé surgissent par endroit, comme l’arc de diane ou un pan de mur de l’amphithéâtre.

Fontaine des Chartreux à Cahors
Fontaine des Chartreux à Cahors
E. Faure

Cahors médiévale

S’il est une époque encore bien prégnante à Cahors, c’est le Moyen Age. Pour un premier aperçu, rien de mieux que d’enfiler vos chaussures de randonnée pour grimper en haut du Mont Saint-Cyr : la ville médiévale s’étend désormais sous vos pieds, resserrée dans la partie est du méandre.

De ce point de vue, il est facile de distinguer les contours des murailles bâties au 7e siècle par l’évêque Saint-Didier, désormais matérialisées par le grand boulevard qui coupe la ville en deux. À l’intérieur, le centre historique, parfois qualifié de « conservatoire de la maison médiévale en France », abrite de nombreuses maisons marchandes, témoins de l’âge d’or cadurcien.

Cet âge d’or, c’est celui de l’émergence des Caorsins, entre le milieu du 12e et du 14e siècle. Ces marchands usuriers pratiquent le commerce et le prêt à intérêt à travers le monde, et participent ainsi à la prospérité économique de la cité. C’est aussi le temps de l’Université fondée par le cadurcien Jacques Duèzes, sacré pape à Avignon en 1316 sous le nom de Jean XXII.

C’est au Moyen Age que l’on doit les grands édifices faisant la renommée de Cahors. Au 12e siècle est entamé le chantier de la Cathédrale Saint-Etienne, dont les coupoles ressortent distinctement au milieu du centre historique. En portant votre regard un peu plus loin, remontez jusqu’aux trois tours du pont Valentré, bâti 2 siècles plus tard par les consuls de la ville. Tous deux sont liés par la via Podensis, un des itinéraires du chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle, classé au patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO.

Porte Saint-Michel dans la muraille Nord de Cahors
Porte Saint-Michel dans la muraille Nord de Cahors

Cahors Renaissant, Cahors Moderne

Il est maintenant temps de renfiler vos godillots, descendre la colline et vous engouffrer dans le centre historique pour admirer de plus près les édifices médiévaux, mais également découvrir Cahors la moderne.

À première vue, la Renaissance se fait discrète dans les rues de Cahors. À l’exception de l’archidiaconé Saint-Jean et de l’hôtel de Roaldès, rares sont les exemples d’architectures richement décorées de fastes motifs aux influences italiennes. Et pourtant, la période moderne est bien présente dans les rues de la ville.

Le 16e siècle, c’est le temps du rayonnement de l’Université et des collèges, de l’implantation d’imprimeurs participant à la prospérité économiques et intellectuelles. C’est également l’époque qui voit naitre des poètes aux idéaux humanistes, dont les vers imprègnent encore aujourd’hui l’atmosphère cadurcienne : Olivier de Magny et Clément Marot.

Un siècle plus tard, au 17e, arrive le temps du développement des administrations juridiques, dont les représentants acquièrent de belles demeures qu’ils s’empressent de moderniser. De superbes portails baroques jalonnent encore les rues du centre historique et témoignent du goût du temps. Un indice pour les retrouver ? Vous les reconnaitre à leur encadrement de pierre sculptée, encadrant une porte de bois aux décors riches et exubérants. Soyez patient ; comme disait Clément Marot « Tout vient à point à qui sait attendre ».

Cahors postrévolutionnaire

Osez maintenant vous aventurer hors de l’enceinte de la ville médiévale. Vous voilà sur le boulevard Léon Gambetta, nommé ainsi en hommage à l’illustre cadurcien, qui participa à la fondation de la 3e République. Bienvenu dans le Cahors postrévolutionnaire, devenu préfecture d’un département rural : le Lot.

Le 19e siècle, c’est le temps de l’entrée dans l’ère industrielle et des grands travaux d’urbanisme. Partout en France, les villes se métamorphosent pour intégrer les préoccupations du temps : améliorer la qualité de vie et l’hygiène publique. Cahors ne fait pas exception à la règle. Le long du grand boulevard nouvellement percé, s’élèvent des bâtiments de pouvoir, de loisir et d’enseignement : théâtre, bibliothèque, hôtel de ville, palais de justice et lycée de jeune fille.

À l’opposé de la ville médiévale, une station de pompage est érigée afin d’alimenter Cahors en eau potable en captant l’eau de la fontaine des Chartreux. Désormais transformé en espace d’exposition (Maison de l’eau), le bâtiment aux formes néo-classiques côtoie toujours le célèbre Pont Valentré sur les bords de la rivière.

Non loin de là, un pont métallique est édifié pour permettre le passage de la nouvelle ligne de chemin de fer, reliant Cahors à Montauban.

Pour en découvrir plus...

Mes favoris
Vos coups de cœur