9 final match.
P1010507
Romain OT Cahors SCL
Historic site and monument

Saint-Etienne cathedral and its cloister

The construction of the Saint-Etienne cathedral and the primitive episcopal complex is traditionally attributed to Bishop Didier in the 1119th century. The Roman cathedral saw its two main altars consecrated in 2 by Pope Calixte II. Its nave is covered with the XNUMX largest domes in the South West. The tympanum of the north portal dates from the XNUMXth century.

The cloister, a true masterpiece of Flamboyant Gothic art, was built between 1493 and 1553.
Around the cloister are organized various buildings belonging to the chapter. The Saint-Gausbert chapel, adorned with paintings executed at the very end of the 15th century, has housed the cathedral's treasure since 1972.

Reduced mobility :

The Cathedral is accessible to wheelchairs (manual and electric) thanks to a lift behind the small brown door on the north side of the Cathedral, in rue Maréchal Foch, near the garden behind the Cathedral.

Visit information(s): Language(s) of the visit:
  • French
Further informationThemes:
  • Cathedral
  • Cloister
Vignobles & Découvertes label: Cahors vineyards in the Lot valley

The offers labeled Vignobles et Découvertes guarantee you quality services in the Cahors vineyard.

Pricing
  • free
Period(s) & times

No visits during the Offices and weddings.

It may interest you
My favorites
Your favorites
Book Now
Contact the provider
Request for information - SIT sheets (do not modify)
Civility

9 /10
P1010507
Romain OT Cahors SCL
Site et monument historiques

Cathédrale Saint-Etienne et son cloître

La construction de la cathédrale Saint-Etienne et de l'ensemble épiscopal primitifs est traditionnellement attribuée à l'evêque Didier au VIIe siècle. La cathédrale romaine voit ses deux autels principaux consacrés en 1119 par le Pape Calixte II. Sa nef est couverte des 2 plus grandes coupoles du Sud Ouest. Le tympan du portail nord date du XIIe siècle.

Le cloître, véritable chef d'œuvre de l'art gothique flamboyant, est réalisé entre 1493 et 1553.
Autour du cloître, s'organisent divers bâtiments relevant du chapitre. La chapelle Saint-Gausbert, ornée de peintures exécutées à l'extrême fin du 15e siècle, accueille depuis 1972 le trésor de la cathédrale.

Mobilité réduite :

La Cathédrale est accessible en fauteuil roulant (manuel et électrique) grâce à un élévateur derrière la petite porte marron qui se trouve coté nord de la Cathédrale, dans la rue Maréchal Foch, près du jardin derrière la Cathédrale.

Information(s) visite : Langue(s) de la visite :
  • Français
Informations complémentairesThèmes :
  • Cathédrale
  • Cloître
Label Vignobles & Découvertes : Vignobles de Cahors en vallée du Lot

Les offres labellisées Vignobles et Découvertes vous garantissent des prestations de qualité dans le vignoble de Cahors.

tarifs
  • Gratuité
Période(s) & horaires

Pas de visite durant les Offices et les mariages.

Ça peut vous intéresser
Mes favoris
Vos coups de cœur
Contacter le prestataire
Demande d'informations - fiches SIT (ne pas modifier)
Civilité