On the road to Santiago de Compostela

The Puy route: the GR65

4 steps: 4 days walk
Positive elevation 1000m

The Puy route, or GR65, is the traditional way to get to Santiago de Compostela. Its notoriety will allow you to make fabulous encounters and easily find all the necessary services during your trip, while discovering marvelous bucolic landscapes. 

For beginners or those with little time, we offer an itinerary varying from 2 to 4 days. 

Departure: Limogne-en-Quercy

Lake and laundry in Limogne
Lake and laundry in Limogne
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello

The itinerary that we suggest starts from the charming village of Limogne-en-Quercy. Located in the heart of the Causses du Quercy Regional Natural Park, you will discover sublime wooded landscapes and an astonishing local heritage made up of surprising dry stone constructions, characterful architecture (butterfly washhouses, Quercy houses, etc.), and beautiful dolmens! 

The Limogne Botanical Trail

The Limogne botanical trail is a short alternative to the GR65. Located in the heart of undergrowth, this very pleasant 700-metre path will allow you to learn more about the many species of local flora, particularly rich in the Causses du Quercy.

Stage 1: Limogne - Mas de Vers (22km)

Pilgrims on the way to Santiago de Compostela
Pilgrims on the way to Santiago de Compostela
A. Astruc

Immerse yourself in the heart of the Caussenard landscapes during this first stage! Particularly preserved and composed mainly of oak forests and open countryside, you will succumb to the moving authenticity of this territory.

On your way...

Keep your eyes wide open on your journey! Territory with an extremely rich local heritage, here are some nuggets that will delight you: 

  • The dolmens of Joncas then of Ferrières-Haut, shortly after your departure from Limogne, bear witness to a history dating back several millennia.
  • The Varaire butterfly washhouse, which will take you back to the time of the washerwomen in the heart of this strikingly charming hamlet. 
Ferriere Dolmen
Ferriere Dolmen
U.Palmer

Stage 2: Mas de Vers - Cahors (22km)

Hiker arriving in Cahors via Pech de Fourques
Hiker arriving in Cahors via Pech de Fourques
Mr Cochet

This stage with more marked relief will slowly abandon the wooded landscapes to offer you spectacular views of the surrounding valleys. The arrival in Cahors will be the highlight of your hike, with a panoramic view of the city gradually opening up to you.

You can then discover the famous Valentré bridge and the Saint-Etienne cathedral, both listed as UNESCO World Heritage sites as part of the Santiago de Compostela routes. 

The butterfly washhouse

Lot washhouses flourished between 1800 and 1950, as in the rest of France. In the Lot, these witnesses of the past are still present and have been preserved. Some washhouses in the Lot even have their own specificity with their stone slab in the shape of a "V", and which respond to the sweet name of "Butterfly washhouses". Very beautiful examples are visible in Varaire a few dozen meters from the GR65, but also in Aujols, a small village south of Cahors and Saint-Cirq Lapopie, near Lalbenque.

Stage 3: Cahors - Lascabanes (24km)

Stopover gîte in Lascabanes on the GR65
Stopover gîte in Lascabanes on the GR65
Mr Cochet

Here you are on your way to Quercy Blanc! Here the landscapes will change radically, starting with a good climb on the side of the cliff to leave Cahors. The marvels will continue to unfold before your eyes, with in particular charming villages and bastides all dressed in white. 

Labastide-Marnhac castle

On your way, at the entrance to the village of Labastide-Marnhac, you will see a castle with various architectural styles. Do not hesitate to pass through its gates if they are open in order to enjoy a well-deserved break while discovering a delightful place!

Stage 4: Lascabanes - Montcuq (17km)

Church of Montcuq
Church of Montcuq
Mr Cochet

Welcome to the heart of Quercy Blanc! Here the forests begin to part with some of their oaks to introduce new species of trees. They are also more discreet, to give way to rural paintings with distant and hilly views. 

On your way...

To fully enjoy your walk, do not hesitate to stop and take the time to observe the treasures you will find on your way:

  • On leaving Lascabanes, a stunningly preserved gariotte will appear in front of you. A little further on, the chapel of Saint-Jean-le-Froid will move you with its serenity. 
  • In Montcuq, the 24 meter high tower will offer you a superb view of the village located at its bedside. At the same time, the exhibitions set up in the monument will allow you to learn more about medieval times, the Lot heritage and... Nino Ferrer! 

The next step...

Here you are at the end of your journey within the Cahors valley of the Lot destination. If you have taken a liking to these daily escapades, you can continue your journey by taking the direction of Lauzerte. You will then leave the Lot department by the village of Montlauzun, perched at the top of a flowery hill with many sunflowers and occupied by our famous sheep in dark glasses.

Useful information

You will find all the practical information concerning your itinerary (accommodation, services, transport) in our pilgrims guide.

Download

My favorites
Your favorites

Sur la route de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle

La voie du Puy : le GR65

4 étapes 4j de marche
Dénivelé positif 1000m

La voie du Puy, ou GR65, est la voie traditionnelle pour se rendre à Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle. Sa notoriété vous permettra de faire de fabuleuses rencontres et de trouver facilement tous les services nécessaires au cours de votre voyage, tout en découvrant de merveilleux paysages bucoliques. 

Pour les débutants ou ceux n'ayant que peu de temps, nous vous proposons un itinéraire variant de 2 à 4 jours. 

Départ : Limogne-en-Quercy

Lac et lavoir à Limogne
Lac et lavoir à Limogne
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello

L'itinéraire que nous vous proposons démarre du charmant village de Limogne-en-Quercy. Situé au cœur du Parc Naturel Régional des Causses du Quercy, vous découvrirez de sublimes paysages boisés et un patrimoine local épatant composé de constructions en pierre sèche surprenantes, d'une architecture de caractère (lavoirs papillons, habitations quercynoises...), et de superbes dolmens ! 

Le Sentier botanique de Limogne

Le sentier botanique de Limogne est une courte alternative au GR65. Situé au cœur d'un sous-bois, ce très agréable chemin de 700 mètres vous permettra d'en apprendre plus sur les nombreuses espèces de la flore locale, particulièrement riche dans les Causses du Quercy.

Étape 1 : Limogne - Mas de Vers (22km)

Pèlerines sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle
Pèlerines sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle
A. Astruc

Plongez au coeur des paysages caussenards au cours de cette première étape ! Particulièrement préservée et composée majoritairement de forêts de chênes et d'étendues champêtres, vous succomberez à l'authenticité émouvante de ce territoire.

Sur votre route...

Gardez les yeux grands ouverts au cours de votre voyage ! Territoire au patrimoine local extrêmement riche, voici quelques pépites qui sauront vous ravir : 

  • Les dolmens du Joncas puis de Ferrières-Haut, peu après votre départ de Limogne, témoins d'une histoire datant de plusieurs millénaires.
  • Le lavoir papillon de Varaire, qui vous transportera au temps des lavandières au cœur de ce hameau au charme saisissant. 
Dolmen de Ferrière
Dolmen de Ferrière
U. Palmer

Étape 2 : Mas de Vers - Cahors (22km)

Randonneuse arrivant à Cahors par le Pech de Fourques
Randonneuse arrivant à Cahors par le Pech de Fourques
M. Cochet

Cette étape au relief plus marqué délaissera lentement les paysages boisés pour vous offrir des vues spectaculaires sur les vallées environnantes. L'arrivée à Cahors sera le moment fort de votre randonnée, avec une vue panoramique sur la cité s'offrant progressivement à vous.

Vous pourrez découvrir alors le célèbre pont Valentré et la cathédrale Saint-Etienne, tous deux classés au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO au titre des chemins de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle. 

Le lavoirs papillon

Les lavoirs lotois, ont prospéré entre 1800 et 1950, comme dans le reste de la France. Dans le Lot, ces témoins du passé sont encore bien présents et ont été préservés. Certains lavoirs du Lot ont même leur propre spécificité avec leur dalle de pierre en forme de « V », et qui répondent au doux nom de « Lavoirs papillons ». De très beaux exemplaires sont visibles à Varaire à quelques dizaine de mètre du GR65, mais aussi à Aujols, petit village au sud de Cahors et Saint-Cirq Lapopie, proche de Lalbenque.

Étape 3 : Cahors - Lascabanes (24km)

Gîte d'étape à Lascabanes sur le GR65
Gîte d'étape à Lascabanes sur le GR65
M. Cochet

Vous voilà en route pour le Quercy Blanc ! Ici les paysages changeront radicalement, en commençant par une bonne grimpette à flanc de falaise pour sortir de Cahors. Les merveilles continueront à se dévoiler sous vos yeux, avec notamment de ravissants villages et bastides tout de blanc vêtus. 

Le château de Labastide-Marnhac

Sur votre route, à l'entrée du village de Labastide-Marnhac, vous apercevrez un château aux styles architecturaux variés. N'hésitez pas à passer ses grilles si celles-ci sont ouvertes afin de savourer une petite pause bien méritée en découvrant un lieu ravissant !

Étape 4 : Lascabanes - Montcuq (17km)

Eglise de Montcuq
Eglise de Montcuq
M. Cochet

Bienvenue au cœur du Quercy Blanc ! Ici les forêts commencent à se séparer de quelques uns de leurs chênes pour y introduire de nouvelles espèces d'arbres. Elles se font également plus discrètes, pour laisser place à des tableaux champêtres aux vues lointaines et vallonées. 

Sur votre route...

Pour profiter pleinement de votre balade, n'hésitez pas à vous arrêter afin de prendre le temps d'observer les trésors que vous trouverez sur votre route :

  • A la sortie de Lascabanes, une gariotte d'une préservation épatante apparaîtra devant vous. Un peu plus loin, la chapelle de Saint-Jean-le-Froid saura vous émouvoir de par la sérénité qu'elle dégage. 
  • A Montcuq, la tour de 24 mètres de haut vous offrira une vue superbe sur le village situé à son chevet. Par la même occasion, les expositions mises en place dans le monument vous permettront d'en savoir plus sur les temps médiévaux, le patrimoine lotois et... Nino Ferrer ! 

La suite du chemin...

Vous voilà à la fin de votre périple au sein de la destination Cahors vallée du Lot. Si vous avez pris goût à ces escapades quotidiennes, vous pourrez continuer votre voyage en prenant la direction de Lauzerte. Vous quitterez alors le département du Lot par le village de Montlauzun, perché au sommet d'une colline fleurie par de nombreux tournesols et occupée par nos fameuses brebis à lunettes noires.

Informations pratiques

Vous trouverez toutes les informations pratiques concernant votre itinéraire (hébergement, services, transports) sur notre guide pèlerins.

Télécharger

Mes favoris
Vos coups de cœur