View on Cahors from Mont Saint-Cyr in a wheelchair to Cahors
View on Cahors from Mont Saint-Cyr in a wheelchair to Cahors
E.Faure
Sensory visit adapted to Cahors
Sensory visit adapted to Cahors
E.Faure
The Pont Valentré in a wheelchair
The Pont Valentré in a wheelchair
E.Castelnau
View on Cahors from Mont Saint-Cyr in a wheelchair to Cahors
View on Cahors from Mont Saint-Cyr in a wheelchair to Cahors
E.Castelnau

Discover our destination within everyone's reach

Not being able to move around, go to a restaurant, go on vacation or simply spend time with family or friends because we don't know what awaits us... a shame!.

It is this lack of information that we are trying to overcome as best we can, in all the reception points of our destination, and on this website. The structures presented here do not benefit from a label but they offer facilities. They have been visited and all the information below has been checked by our services.

Do not hesitate to send us your comments or useful details to other users. 
Our Office works with the service providers of the destination in order to make those involved aware of the reception of people with reduced mobility.

Wheelchair accessibility to Cahors
Wheelchair accessibility to Cahors
E.Faure

De Cahors in St-Cirq Lapopie, passing through the Célé and Lot valleys, you will go from surprise to discovery. Marvel, feel, vibrate... Live your holidays to the full!

So,

What are we doing ?

Cahors opens its doors to you

What better way to discover Cahors what about gaining height? The point of view of Mont St-Cyr allows you to take in the Cadurcian city nestled in its meander of the Lot at a single glance. Go in the morning, that's when the light is the most beautiful. The belvedere is fitted out and will allow you to get as close as possible to the viewpoint.

Then go to the heart of town. You can park easily in the many PMR surface spaces (free) or in the amphitheater car park (paying) ideally located, right next to the Tourist Office. Another possibility, the free shuttles from the relay car parks

Cahors is renowned as a magnificent and well-preserved medieval city. Come and see us at the Tourist Office, we will give you a visit map of Cahors, but also its Secret Gardens! Indeed, during your walk, you will be able to admire medieval houses, small streets with such a special atmosphere, all punctuated by gardens which will reveal the secrets of the city's history. Smell, touch, breathe, the gardens are there for that! 

One of the jewels of our city is of course the cathedral which, like the Valentré bridge, is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site as part of the pilgrimage route to Compostela. The entrance is via rue Clément Marot.

The highlight of your discovery will of course be the Valentré bridge. The walk along the Lot on the Alleys of Sighs allows you to have the necessary perspective to appreciate this majestic monument. It is perfectly practicable and secure. The closer you get to it, the more you will appreciate it... Do not hesitate to take the small path that passes under the first tower! Access to the bridge is made more complicated by the pebbles that cover the ground. Accessibility work is planned for spring 2022. 

The Pont Valentré in a wheelchair
The Pont Valentré in a wheelchair
E.Castelnau

A walk in Saint-Cirq Lapopie and its surroundings

Arriving via the village of Tour-de-Faure, you will take your breath away when you discover St-Cirq Lapopie clinging to its cliff. Going up and from your vehicle, you will have one of the most beautiful views of the village, with its half-timbered houses and the fortified church which sits majestically on its rocky outcrop. 

Two PRM spaces are reserved for you in the center of the village, just behind the Tourist Office (remember to contact us before arriving to ensure their availability). From there, you can radiate from the central square, in the alleys so characteristic of the architecture of the Middle Ages. The slopes are steep (25% on average), but even if you stay on Place du Sombral, having a coffee in the heart of St-Cirq Lapopie will make you feel what André Breton meant when you first arrived here. he has “stopped desiring himself elsewhere”. 

Upstream from Bouziès and St-Cirq Lapopie, it is at the Château de Cénevières that you will immerse yourself in the Renaissance by exploring this jewel of the Lot valley. The floors are not wheelchair accessible, but the entire ground floor is, especially the old chapel and the torture room! The squire's enthusiasm will help you experience an exceptional moment. 

A day to discover the vineyard

Start with the charming village of Douelle. This former trading port takes its name from the small planks used to make barrels and which the village had made its specialty. What better way to start the day on this theme than to face Mur2Douelle ? This monumental contemporary work is the longest painted wall in Europe (122 m). It retraces in 12 panels the history of wine in mythology. There is a second level of reading with the work in the vines over the 12 months of the year. The reading table located on the bank opposite will allow you to decipher its mysteries. It is extremely readable and at the ideal height so that everyone can read this monumental work. 
We then suggest you crisscross the Lot valley and enjoy its landscapes marked by the vine. 

Of course it is strongly recommended to make stops in different areas to taste the wine of Cahors, but also to soak up this very special culture with the passionate winegrowers.

Many cellars will allow you easy access thanks to slopes or single-storey sites.

Some, in addition to their wine, present certain particularities: an artistic exhibition of barrels painted or sculpted at Châteaux St-Sernin as well as numerous festive events, a ride with commentary by Clément, winemaker from the Paganie estate... In a 2CV! Or, the visit of the art collection of Prince Henrik at the Castle of the Queen of Denmark in Caïx.

 

You will not forget to admire Puy-L'Évêque, this small medieval town located in the heart of the vineyard. Two pretty viewpoints: the first facing the city, on the other bank. It will allow you without physical constraint the discovery of the city as a whole and to appreciate its medieval aesthetics. The second, from Vinoltis, interpretation center of the Wine of Cahors... And Tourist Office! This fully accessible space is a real gateway to understanding our vineyard and the men who have shaped it for centuries.

Magalie Duranceau
Magalie Duranceau
A. Laudouar
Magalie Duranceau Your privileged contact

Ask me your questions and let me know your comments about accessibility and your experiences during your stay!

Contact me on 05 65 53 20 68 or email me !

My favorites
Your favorites

Vue sur Cahors depuis le Mont Saint-Cyr en fauteuil roulant à Cahors
Vue sur Cahors depuis le Mont Saint-Cyr en fauteuil roulant à Cahors
E. Faure
Visite sensorielle adaptée à Cahors
Visite sensorielle adaptée à Cahors
E. Faure
Le Pont Valentré en fauteuil roulant
Le Pont Valentré en fauteuil roulant
E. Castelnau
Vue sur Cahors depuis le Mont Saint-Cyr en fauteuil roulant à Cahors
Vue sur Cahors depuis le Mont Saint-Cyr en fauteuil roulant à Cahors
E. Castelnau

Tourisme accessible

Découvrez notre destination à portée de tous

Ne pas pouvoir se déplacer, aller au restaurant, partir en vacances ou simplement passer un moment en famille ou entre amis parce qu'on ne sait pas ce qui nous attend... un comble !.

C'est ce manque d'informations que nous tentons de palier au mieux, dans l'ensemble des points d'accueil de notre destination, et dans ce site internet. Les structures présentées ici ne bénéficient pas d'un label mais elles présentent des facilités. Elles ont été visitées et toutes les informations ci-dessous ont été contrôlées par nos services.

N’hésitez pas à nous faire remonter vos remarques ou précisions utiles à d’autres usagers. 
Notre Office travaille auprès des prestataires de la destination afin de sensibiliser les acteurs à l'accueil des personnes à mobilité réduite.

L'accessibilité en fauteuil roulant à Cahors
L'accessibilité en fauteuil roulant à Cahors
E. Faure

De Cahors à St-Cirq Lapopie, en passant par les vallées du Célé et du Lot, vous irez de surprises en découvertes. S’émerveiller, ressentir, vibrer... Vivez pleinement vos vacances !

Alors,

Qu'est-ce qu'on fait ?

Cahors vous ouvre ses portes

Quelle plus belle façon de découvrir Cahors qu’en prenant de la hauteur ? Le point de vue du Mont St-Cyr permet d’embrasser d’un seul regard la cité cadurcienne lovée dans son méandre du Lot. Allez-y le matin, c’est à ce moment où la lumière est la plus belle. Le belvédère est aménagé et vous permettra de vous approcher au plus proche du point de vue.

Rejoignez ensuite le cœur de ville. Vous pourrez vous garer facilement sur les nombreuses place PMR de surface (gratuites) ou au parking de l’amphithéâtre (payant) idéalement situé, juste à côté de l’Office de tourisme. Une autre possibilité, les navettes gratuites des parkings relais

Cahors est réputée comme une cité médiévale magnifique et très préservée. Passez nous voir à l’Office de tourisme, nous vous remettrons un plan de visite de Cahors, mais aussi de ses Jardins Secrets ! En effet, au fil de votre promenade, vous pourrez admirer des maisons médiévales, de petites rues à l’atmosphère si particulière, le tout ponctué de jardins qui vous dévoileront les secrets de l’histoire de la ville. Sentez, touchez, respirez, les jardins sont là pour ça ! 

Un des joyaux de notre cité, c’est bien sur la cathédrale qui est inscrite comme le pont Valentré, au patrimoine mondial de l’humanité à l’UNESCO au titre des chemins de Compostelle. L’entrée se fait par la rue Clément Marot.

Le clou de votre découverte sera bien sûr le pont Valentré. La promenade qui longe le Lot sur les allées des soupirs permet d’avoir le recul nécessaire pour apprécier ce monument majestueux Elle est parfaitement praticable et sécurisée. Plus vous vous en approcherez, plus vous en prendrez la mesure... N’hésitez pas à prendre le petit chemin qui passe sous la première tour ! L’accès au pont est rendu plus compliqué par les galets qui couvrent le sol. Des travaux de mise en accessibilité sont prévus au printemps 2022. 

Le Pont Valentré en fauteuil roulant
Le Pont Valentré en fauteuil roulant
E. Castelnau

Une balade à Saint-Cirq Lapopie et ses alentours

C’est en arrivant par le village de Tour-de-Faure, que vous aurez le souffle coupé en découvrant St-Cirq Lapopie accroché à sa falaise. En montant et de votre véhicule, vous aurez une des plus belles vues du village, avec ses maisons à pans de bois et l’église fortifiée qui trône magistralement sur son éperon rocheux. 

Deux places PMR vous sont réservées dans le centre du village, juste derrière l’Office de tourisme (pensez à nous contacter avant d’arriver pour vous assurer de leur disponibilité). De là, vous pourrez rayonner à partir de la place centrale, dans les ruelles si caractéristiques de l’architecture du Moyen-Âge. Les pentes sont fortes (25% en moyenne), mais même si vous restez sur la place du Sombral, prendre un café au cœur de St-Cirq Lapopie, vous fera ressentir ce que voulait dire André Breton quand en arrivant ici pour la première fois il a “cessé de se désirer ailleurs”. 

En amont de Bouziès et St-Cirq Lapopie, c’est au château de Cénevières que vous vous plongerez dans la Renaissance en explorant ce bijou de la vallée du Lot. Les étages ne sont pas accessibles en fauteuils, mais tout le rez-de-chaussée, lui, l’est, en particulier l’ancienne chapelle et la salle de tortures ! L’enthousiasme du châtelain participera à vous faire vivre un moment exceptionnel. 

Une journée à la découverte du vignoble

Commencez par le charmant village de Douelle. Cet ancien port de commerce tient son nom des petites planches qui servent à fabriquer les barriques et dont le village avait fait sa spécialité. Quelle meilleure façon de commencer la journée sur cette thématique que d’aller face au Mur2Douelle ? Cette œuvre contemporaine monumentale est le plus long mur peint d’Europe (122 m). Elle retrace en 12 panneaux l’histoire du vin dans la mythologie. Il y a un second niveau de lecture avec les travaux dans les vignes sur les 12 mois de l’année. La table de lecture située sur la rive en face vous permettra de d’en décrypter les mystères. Elle est extrêmement lisible et à hauteur idéale pour que tout le monde puisse lire cette œuvre monumentale. 
Nous vous proposons ensuite de sillonner la vallée du Lot et de profiter de ses paysages marqués par la vigne. 

Bien sûr il est fortement recommandé de faire des haltes dans différents domaines afin de goûter le vin de Cahors, mais aussi de s’imprégner auprès des vignerons passionnés, de cette culture si particulière.

De nombreux chais vous permettront un accès facilité grâce à des pentes ou des sites de plain-pied.

Certains, en plus de leur vin, présentent certaines particularités : une exposition artistique de barriques peintes ou sculptées au Châteaux St-Sernin ainsi que de nombreuses animations festives, une balade commentée par Clément, vigneron du domaine de la Paganie... En 2CV ! Ou encore, la visite de la collection d’art du Prince Henrik au Château de la reine du Danemark à Caïx.

Les domaines accessibles

Vous n’oublierez pas d’aller admirer Puy-L’Évêque, cette petite ville médiévale située au cœur du vignoble. Deux jolis points de vue : le premier en face de la ville, sur l’autre rive. Il vous permettra sans contrainte physique la découverte de la ville dans son ensemble et d’en apprécier son esthétisme médiéval. Le second, depuis Vinoltis, centre d’interprétation du Vin de Cahors... Et Office de tourisme ! Cet espace, totalement accessible est une véritable porte d’entrée et de compréhension de notre vignoble et des hommes qui l’ont façonné depuis des siècles.

Et pour les questions pratiques ?

Magalie Duranceau
Magalie Duranceau
A. Laudouar
Magalie Duranceau Votre contact privilégié

Posez-moi vos questions et faites-moi remonter vos remarques concernant l'accessibilité et vos expériences lors de votre séjour !

Contactez-moi au 05 65 53 20 68 ou envoyez-moi un e-mail !

Mes favoris
Vos coups de cœur