vineyard of Cahors
vineyard of Cahors
A. Auzanneau
Wine tasting
Wine tasting
L. Nespoulous
Chateau Chambert in Floressas
Chateau Chambert in Floressas
S.Richard
Chateau Chambert in Floressas
Chateau Chambert in Floressas
S.Richard
Visit of Cahors Between Stone and Wine
Visit of Cahors Between Stone and Wine
L. Da Ascencao
There are 2 Protected Designations of Origin on the destination Cahors Lot Valley: the AOP Wine of Cahors and the AOP Coteaux du Quercy.
Guided tours and tastings - groups - Cahors-Lot Valley
Guided tours and tastings - groups - Cahors-Lot Valley
J.Morel
The famous Black Wine, based on Malbec

The PDO Wine of Cahors

Imbued with excellence and richness, the wines of Cahors owe their fame in no way to chance. They are the fruit of ancestral know-how of the winegrowers of the region allied to an ideal geographical location. From the limestone causses to the terraces of alluvial deposits in the Lot valley, the vineyard benefits from a remarkable climate and late seasons. It is from this geographical diversity and its different grape varieties that each wine of Cahors draws its aromatic nuances, so quick to initiate the palate to travel.

The main grape of the appellation, the Malbec, represents 70% of the grape varieties. Added to this, the Merlot and Tannat give a tannic wine, ample in the mouth and with a deep ruby ​​color. The more than 4 hectares of the appellation are cultivated with care by nearly 250 individual cellars and a cooperative cellar.

Cahors, Malbec: an exceptional vineyard
Coteaux du Quercy wine tasting
Coteaux du Quercy wine tasting
J.Morel
A vineyard to discover

AOP Coteaux du Quercy

Straddling two departments: Lot and Tarn-et-Garonne, the AOP Coteaux du Quercy includes 38 municipalities between the South of Cahors and the North of Montauban. It is on these clay-limestone soils and under a climate with a double influence (oceanic and Mediterranean) that the wines of the AOP Coteaux du Quercy flourish.

The main grape varieties of the appellation are cabernet franc (40 to 60%), the Merlot, the auxerrois, tannat and Gamay. Their personality and finesse allow harmonious alliances with local gastronomy. The AOP Coteaux du Quercy extends over 200 hectares, i.e. 50 winegrowers divided into 1 cooperative cellar, 1 agricultural college and 19 private cellars. Les Vins des Coteaux du Quercy also has a brotherhood that promotes and defends its wines. 

The wines of the Coteaux du Quercy AOP
vineyard of Cahors in Cournou
vineyard of Cahors in Cournou
J.Morel
Harvest by hand at Château Lagrézette
Harvest by hand at Château Lagrézette
Lot Tourisme - J. Morel
Harvest...

Did you know?

If the term “harvest” refers to the action of harvesting the grapes, its plural version corresponds to the harvest period.

Harvest time in the vineyard of Cahors
Harvest time in the vineyard of Cahors
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello
Harvest...

Harvest time

On the PDO Cahors, it is from mid-September until October that this harvest season extends. Unless there is a request for exemption, it is the harvest ban, decreed by the prefect, which gives the green light to the winegrowers to launch the machines through the vines.

Harvest on horseback in the vineyard of Cahors
Harvest on horseback in the vineyard of Cahors
A. Auzanneau
Harvest...

Make way for viti-practice

For the technique, two schools exist: mechanical or manual harvesting.
Harvesting by hand involves several stations. First, the cutters pick the bunches. Then, the porters collect everything to take it to the tractor trailers. The drivers of the latter finally transport everything to the sorting tables where the de-stemming work will begin.

Harvest time in the vineyard of Cahors
Harvest time in the vineyard of Cahors
A. Auzanneau
Harvest...

The harvesting machine is designed in such a shape that it passes over the rows of vines to harvest the fruits. The vines are shaken in its path and the bunches of grapes are collected from the belts of the machine, to end up in its vats. Once these have been filled, all that remains is to empty everything into the trailer, destined for the sorting tables.

Harvest time in the vineyard of Cahors
Harvest time in the vineyard of Cahors
JP. Bessieres
Harvest...

After destemming, which consists of separating the fruit from the bunches, the vinification process begins. After a stay in vats for about ten days when the first fermentation begins, the fruit is pressed to release the juice. The reds then leave for a second fermentation. Then follows the period of aging in vats, barrels or tuns. The wine will remain there for a period chosen by the winemaker, depending on the expected results.

Harvest time in the vineyard of Cahors
Harvest time in the vineyard of Cahors
A. Auzanneau
Harvest...

Want to test?

The Federation of Independent Winegrowers and its member winegrowers have set up the Harvester for a Day operation!

During this participatory event, the winemaker takes you to the vineyards for 2 hours of harvesting. Back at the estate, you will witness the transformation of fruit into wine. Then comes the time of tasting. At the end of this real experience, you have the opportunity to eat directly at the estate, during a winegrower's meal.

Vineyards & Discoveries label

Created in 2009, the national Vignobles & Découvertes label rewards territories committed to the development of wine tourism. It is the guarantee of carefully selected activities and places, to make it easier for you to prepare your stay in the vineyard, for a weekend or a few days. Thus, the hotels, cellars, restaurants, monuments, agencies and tourist offices, events and other labeled activities undertake to send you the keys to the vineyard. This label is issued for a period of 3 years by Atout France.

Two destinations have this label on the territory:

The vineyard destination of Cahors in the Lot Valley

Labeled Vineyards & Discoveries since 2013, the Vineyards destination of Cahors in the Lot Valley extends over the 45 municipalities making up the territory of the AOP Cahors, or nearly 4 hectares. It's from Catus in Villesèque and Soturac in Arcambal, which is staged the diversity of the soils giving their own signature to the wines. Between causses and valleys, the vineyard has always been intimately linked to the river Lot. From these terroirs and know-how are born identity and striking landscapes, available to you since the points of view located on the slopes or boats still sailing on the Lot.

Rich in its constructions, tools and viticultural know-how, but also in its natural and taste heritage, the vineyard will delight you, whether you are in love with old stones or gastronomy.

Culture lovers will appreciate the presence of the Grand Site Occitanie “ Cahors – Vallée du Lot” with its three large emblematic hearts, two of which are located directly on the territory of the AOP: Cahors, City of Art and History, and Puy-l'Eveque, perched medieval city, but also Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, one of the Most Beautiful Villages in France to the east of the vineyard.

The many dedicated festivities and the tasting of quality local products will allow you to discover the wine of Cahors other.

The Quercy vineyard destination

The Quercy vineyard, straddling the departments of Lot and Tarn-et-Garonne, has also become a wine tourism destination labeled “ Vineyards & Discoveries » in 2019. The territory of the AOP Coteaux du Quercy includes 38 municipalities between the South of Cahors and the North of Montauban. It is the heart of the South-West that beats in this area between the Aveyron Valley and the Causses du Lot, crossed by the road to Santiago de Compostela.

On this territory crossed by plains, hillsides and vineyards, Quercy is both a natural region and a melting pot of human experiences where nature and heritage come together. The accents of the terroir rhyme with hospitality and the pleasures of the table where the wine finds its place with accuracy and balance. In the heart of the South-West, it is a territory marked by the traditions, passion of his women and his men, the wealth of its land...

My favorites
Your favorites

Vignoble de Cahors
Vignoble de Cahors
A. Auzanneau
Dégustation de vin
Dégustation de vin
L. Nespoulous
Château Chambert à Floressas
Château Chambert à Floressas
S. Richard
Château Chambert à Floressas
Château Chambert à Floressas
S. Richard
Visite de Cahors Entre Pierre et Vin
Visite de Cahors Entre Pierre et Vin
L. Da Ascençao
On compte 2 Appellations d'Origine Protégée sur la destination Cahors Vallée du Lot : l'AOP Vin de Cahors et l'AOP Coteaux du Quercy.
Visites guidées et dégustations - groupes - Cahors-Vallée du Lot
Visites guidées et dégustations - groupes - Cahors-Vallée du Lot
J. Morel
Le célèbre Black Wine, à base de Malbec

L'AOP Vin de Cahors

Empreints d’excellence et de richesse, les vins de Cahors ne doivent en rien leur renommée au hasard. Ils sont le fruit du savoir-faire ancestral des vignerons de la région allié à une situation géographique idéale. Des causses calcaires aux terrasses de dépôts alluvionnaires de la vallée du Lot, le vignoble bénéficie d’un climat et d’arrières saisons remarquables. C’est de cette diversité géographique et de ses différents cépages que chaque vin de Cahors puise ses nuances aromatiques, si promptes à initier le palais au voyage.

Le cépage principal de l’appellation, le Malbec, représente 70% de l’encépagement. Ajoutés à celui-ci, le Merlot et le Tannat donnent un vin de garde tannique, ample en bouche et à la robe rubis soutenue. Les plus de 4 250 hectares de l’appellation sont cultivés avec soin par près de 180 chais particuliers et une cave coopérative.

Cahors, Malbec : un vignoble d’exception
Dégustation de vin des Coteaux du Quercy
Dégustation de vin des Coteaux du Quercy
J. Morel
Un vignoble à découvrir

L'AOP Coteaux du Quercy

À cheval sur deux départements : le Lot et le Tarn-et-Garonne, l'AOP Coteaux du Quercy comprend 38 communes entre le Sud de Cahors et le Nord de Montauban. C’est sur ces terres argilo-calcaires et sous un climat à la double influence (océanique et méditerranéenne) que les vins de l’AOP Coteaux du Quercy s’épanouissent.

Les principaux cépages de l’appellation sont le cabernet franc (40 à 60%), le merlot, l’auxerrois, le tannat et le gamay. Leur personnalité et leur finesse permettent des alliances harmonieuses avec la gastronomie locale. L'AOP Coteaux du Quercy s’étend sur 200 hectares, soit, 50 viticulteurs répartis en 1 cave coopérative, 1 lycée Agricole et 19 chais particuliers. Les Vins des Coteaux du Quercy comptent également une confrérie qui assure la promotion et la défense de ses vins. 

Les vins des Coteaux du Quercy AOP
Vignoble de Cahors à Cournou
Vignoble de Cahors à Cournou
J. Morel
Vendanges à la main au château Lagrézette
Vendanges à la main au château Lagrézette
Lot Tourisme - J. Morel
Les vendanges...

Le saviez-vous ?

Si le terme “vendange” désigne l’action de récolter le raisin, sa version au pluriel correspond quant à elle à la période de récolte.

Temps des vendanges dans le vignoble de Cahors
Temps des vendanges dans le vignoble de Cahors
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello
Les vendanges...

Le temps des vendanges

Sur l’AOP Cahors, c’est à partir de mi-septembre et jusqu’au mois d’octobre que s’étale cette saison des vendanges. Sauf demande de dérogation, c’est le ban des vendanges, arrêté préfectoral, qui donne le feu vert aux vignerons pour lancer les machines à travers vignes.

Vendanges à cheval dans le vignoble de Cahors
Vendanges à cheval dans le vignoble de Cahors
A. Auzanneau
Les vendanges...

Place à la viti-pratique

Pour la technique, deux écoles existent : les vendanges mécaniques ou manuelles.
La récolte à la main comporte plusieurs postes. Dans un premier temps les coupeurs cueillent les grappes. Puis, les porteurs récupèrent le tout pour le mener aux remorques des tracteurs. Les conducteurs de ces derniers transportent enfin le tout jusqu’aux tables de tri où débutera le travail d’éraflage.

Temps des vendanges dans le vignoble de Cahors
Temps des vendanges dans le vignoble de Cahors
A. Auzanneau
Les vendanges...

La machine à vendanger, elle, est conçue de telle forme qu’elle passe au-dessus les rangées de vignes pour en récolter les fruits. Les ceps sont secoués sur son passage et les grappes de raisins sont récupérées sur les tapis de la machine, pour finir dans ses cuves. Une fois celles-ci remplies, il ne reste plus qu’à vider le tout dans la remorque, à destination des tables de tri.

Temps des vendanges dans le vignoble de Cahors
Temps des vendanges dans le vignoble de Cahors
JP. Bessières
Les vendanges...

Après l’éraflage, qui consiste à séparer les fruits des grappes, le processus de vinification s’enclenche. Après un passage en cuve d’une dizaine de jours où démarre la première fermentation, on presse les fruits pour en faire sortir le jus. Les rouges partent alors pour une seconde fermentation. S’ensuit la période de l’élevage en cuve, barrique ou foudre. Le vin y restera pour une durée choisie par le vigneron, selon les résultats attendus.

Temps des vendanges dans le vignoble de Cahors
Temps des vendanges dans le vignoble de Cahors
A. Auzanneau
Les vendanges...

Envie de tester ?

La Fédération des Vignerons Indépendants ainsi que ses vignerons adhérents ont mis en place l’opération Vendangeur d’un Jour !

Durant cet événement participatif, le vigneron vous emmène dans les vignes pour 2h de vendanges. De retour au domaine, vous assistez à la transformation des fruits en vin. Puis, vient ensuite le temps de la dégustation. Au terme de cette véritable expérience, vous avez la possibilité de vous restaurer directement au domaine, à l’occasion d’un repas vigneron.

Label Vignobles & Découvertes

Créé en 2009, le label national Vignobles & Découvertes récompense les territoires engagés dans le développement de l’œnotourisme. Il est l’assurance d’activités et de lieux soigneusement sélectionnés, pour vous permettre de préparer plus facilement votre séjour dans le vignoble, pour un week-end ou quelques jours. Ainsi, les hôtels, caves, restaurants, monuments, agences et offices de tourisme, événements et autres activités labellisés s’engagent à vous transmettre les clés du vignoble. Ce label est délivré pour une durée de 3 ans par Atout France.

Deux destinations possèdent ce label sur le territoire :

La destination vignoble de Cahors en Vallée du Lot

Labellisée Vignobles & Découvertes depuis 2013, la destination Vignobles de Cahors en Vallée du Lot s’étend sur les 45 communes composant le territoire de l’AOP Cahors, soit sur près de 4 000 hectares. C’est de Catus à Villesèque et de Soturac à Arcambal, que s’étage la diversité des terroirs donnant leur signature propre aux vins. Entre causses et vallées, le vignoble est depuis toujours intimement lié à la rivière Lot. De ces terroirs et savoir-faire naissent des paysages identitaires et marquants, s’offrant à vous depuis les points de vue situés sur les versants ou bien des embarcations navigant encore sur le Lot.

Riche de ses constructions, outils et savoir-faire viticoles, mais aussi de son patrimoine naturel et gustatif, le vignoble saura vous ravir, que vous soyez amoureux des vieilles pierres ou de gastronomie.

Les amateurs de culture apprécieront la présence du Grand Site Occitanie « Cahors – Vallée du Lot » avec ses trois grands cœurs emblématiques, dont deux situés directement sur le territoire de l’AOP : Cahors, Ville d’Art et d’Histoire, et Puy-l’Evêque, cité médiévale perchée, mais aussi Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, un des Plus Beaux Villages de France à l’Est du vignoble.

Les nombreuses festivités dédiées et la dégustation de produits du terroir de qualité vous permettront de découvrir le vin de Cahors autrement.

La destination vignoble du Quercy

Le vignoble du Quercy, à cheval sur les départements du Lot et du Tarn-et-Garonne, est également devenu une destination œnotouristique labellisée « Vignobles & Découvertes » en 2019. Le territoire de l’AOP Coteaux du Quercy comprend 38 communes entre le Sud de Cahors et le Nord de Montauban. C'est le cœur du Sud-Ouest qui bat dans cette aire entre Vallée de l'Aveyron et Causses du Lot, traversée par le chemin de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle.

Sur ce territoire traversé de plaines, de coteaux et de vignes, le Quercy est à la fois une région naturelle et un creuset d’expériences humaines où se côtoient la nature et le patrimoine. Les accents du terroir riment avec l’hospitalité et les plaisirs de la table où le vin trouve sa place avec justesse et équilibre. Au cœur du Sud-Ouest, c’est un territoire marqué par les traditions, la passion de ses femmes et de ses hommes, les richesses de son terroir...

Mes favoris
Vos coups de cœur