Explore

Montcuq-en-Quercy-Blanc

Village of Montcuq
Village of Montcuq
Lot Tourisme - J. Morel Gallery
Duration 1 hours
For the whole family

We pronounce the Q

We smile first, then we hum, we finally admire.
It's obvious, Montcuq rose to fame with its mere name, but the village deserves your attention for many more reasons.

The promenade and its Sunday market

It is on this main alley that the discovery of the village begins. The sweetness of life in Quercy is reflected here between the verdant alley of plane trees and the typical white stone houses. Having a drink on the terrace and soaking up the warm atmosphere of the Sunday market is a divine experience. 

On the Sunday morning market in Montcuq
On the Sunday morning market in Montcuq
E.Hernandez

rue du petit rapporteur

Rue du petit rapporteur and sculpture of the Petit Montcuquois in Montcuq
Rue du petit rapporteur and sculpture of the Petit Montcuquois in Montcuq
E.Hernandez

This street was renamed in 2006 and is a nice nod to the show that highlighted our charming village. You reach the center of the village by this beautiful alley with half-timbered houses.

the little montcuquois

A true emblem of the village, the little Montcuquois, 94cm tall, proudly displays various symbols: the coat of arms of Montcuq on the shoulder, a pilgrim's staff (yes, you are on the Way of Saint-Jacques, on the mythical Via Podiensis ) and a palm in reference to travel. Sculpted and offered to the village by Hugo (artist and sculptor from Montcuq) in 2004, this little scoundrel has become a must during a visit to Montcuq. Pssst! The legend says that caressing your bouncing posterior brings good luck! 

former consular house

Place des Consuls in Montcuq
Place des Consuls in Montcuq
E.Hernandez

In addition to the royal power, Montcuq was endowed around 1225 with a consular administration. During the replacement of the consulate by the municipal councils, the building retains its vocation in front of the town hall. 
The painting “Ville de Montcuq en Quercy” by Nino Ferrer is exhibited in the town hall.

pla street

Rue du Pla in Montcuq
Rue du Pla in Montcuq
E.Hernandez

This street, which is flat in name only, will give you the opportunity to discover many houses with remarkable elements.

aste street

Rue de l'Aste in Montcuq
Rue de l'Aste in Montcuq
E.Hernandez

Here you are in one of the oldest streets of the town, keep an eye out, some houses retain interesting architectural details. You will be won over by the picturesque charm of this winding alley lined, in summer, with lush vegetation. 

Montmartre street

Montmartre street in Montcuq
Montmartre street in Montcuq
E.Hernandez

It was the main street of the village, here each arcade was a shop, a place to live, a business, ... Today there are charming accommodations, atypical shops, ... It led to the old grain hall and the Sainte-Hilaire church.

Saint-Hilaire church

Village of Montcuq
Village of Montcuq
A. Auzanneau

Dating from the end of the XNUMXth / beginning of the XNUMXth century, it was remodeled following damage suffered throughout history. Inside, a beautiful set of stained glass windows in very bright colors retraces the lives of Christ and Saint-Hilaire.

earl's tower

Dominating the castrum, this tower-keep built in the 3th century probably replaced an older tower. In summer, the tower can be visited and offers 360 exhibitions: a floor dedicated to the construction of the building, then an ephemeral exhibition and finally a room paying homage to Nino Ferrer, who fell in love with the village and the white Quercy. It is from this promontory that you will enjoy a XNUMX° panoramic view of the surrounding countryside. 

The tower and the village of Montcuq
The tower and the village of Montcuq
A. Auzanneau
My favorites
Your favorites

Explorez

Montcuq-en-Quercy-Blanc

Village de Montcuq
Village de Montcuq
Lot Tourisme - J. Morel Galerie
Durée 1h30
Pour toute la famille

On prononce le Q

On sourit d’abord, on chantonne ensuite, on admire enfin.
C’est évident, Montcuq a connu la gloire avec son simple nom, mais le village mérite votre attention pour beaucoup plus de raisons.

La promenade et son marché du dimanche

C'est sur cette allée principale que commence la découverte du village. La douceur de vivre du Quercy se reflète ici entre la verdoyante allée de platanes et les maisons de pierres blanches si typiques. Prendre un verre terrasse et se laisser imprégner par l'ambiance chaleureuse du marché du dimanche est une expérience divine. 

Sur le marché du dimanche matin à Montcuq
Sur le marché du dimanche matin à Montcuq
E. Hernandez

rue du petit rapporteur

Rue du petit rapporteur et sculpture du petit Montcuquois à Montcuq
Rue du petit rapporteur et sculpture du petit Montcuquois à Montcuq
E. Hernandez

Cette rue a été rebaptisée en 2006 et fait un joli clin d'oeil à l'émission qui a mis en lumière notre charmant village. On accède au centre du bourg par cette belle ruelle aux maisons à colombages.

le petit montcuquois

Véritable emblème du village, le petit montcuquois, haut de ses 94cm arbore fièrement différents symboles : le blason de Montcuq sur l'épaule, un baton de pèlerin (hé oui, vous êtes sur le Chemin de Saint-Jacques, sur la mythique via podiensis) et une palme en référence au voyage. Sculpté et offert au village par Hugo (artiste sculpteur montcuquois) en 2004, ce petit chenapant est devenu un passage obligé lors d'une visite à Montcuq. Pssstt ! La légende dit que caresser son postérieur rebondit porte bonheur ! 

ancienne maison consulaire

Place des Consuls à Montcuq
Place des Consuls à Montcuq
E. Hernandez

En plus du pouvoir royal, Montcuq est doté vers 1225 d’une administration consulaire. Lors du remplacement du consulat par les conseils municipaux, la bâtisse conserve sa vocation en devant l’hôtel de ville. 
La toile “Ville de Montcuq en Quercy” de Nino Ferrer est exposée dans la mairie.

rue du pla

Rue du Pla à Montcuq
Rue du Pla à Montcuq
E. Hernandez

Cette rue qui n'a de plat que le nom vous donnera à découvrir de nombreuses maisons aux éléments remarquables.

rue de l'aste

Rue de l'Aste à Montcuq
Rue de l'Aste à Montcuq
E. Hernandez

Vous voici dans une des rues les plus anciennes du bourg, ouvrez l'oeil, quelques demeures conservent des détails architecturaux intéressants. Vous serez conquis par le charme pittoresque de cette ruelle tortueuse bordée, à la belle saison, d'une végétation luxuriante. 

rue Montmartre

Rue Montmartre à Montcuq
Rue Montmartre à Montcuq
E. Hernandez

C'était la rue principale du village, ici chaque arcade était une échope, un lieu de vie, un commerce, ... Aujourd'hui on y retrouve des hébergements de charme, des commerces atyiques, ... Elle menait jusqu'à l'ancienne halle aux grains et à l'église Sainte-Hilaire.

église Saint-Hilaire

Village de Montcuq
Village de Montcuq
A. Auzanneau

Datant de la fin XIIIème / début XIVème siècle, elle fût remanié suite à des dégats subit au fil de l'histoire. À l'intérieur, un bel ensemble de vitraux aux couleurs très vives retrace les vies du Christ et de Saint-Hilaire.

tour comtale

Dominant le castrum, cette tour-donjon édifiée au XIIIème siècle a sans doute remplacé une tour plus ancienne. En été, la tour se visite et offre 3 expositions : un étage dédié à la construction de l'édifice, puis une exposition éphémère et enfin une salle rendant hommage à Nino Ferrer, tombé amoureux du village et du Quercy blanc. C'est de ce promontoire que vous profiterez d'une vue panoramique à 360°c sur la campagne environnante. 

La tour et le village de Montcuq
La tour et le village de Montcuq
A. Auzanneau
Mes favoris
Vos coups de cœur