River view in Albas from the towpath
River view in Albas from the towpath
Mr Cochet
Outside

The towpath of Albas - Luzech

Between Albas and Luzech
Lovers of family walks, do you want to take advantage of your holidays with your tribe to discover new wonders? The old towpath linking Albas and Luzech is the ideal walk to delight young and old! Less known than the Bouziès towpath, this path turns out to be just as charming, and above all... much quieter! Very easy to access, this little family excursion will allow you to get together, laugh and chat together, and discover the many curiosities of this territory of the Lot valley.  
Candy of Round trip
Departure from Albas Parking near the bridge
Walking time 2h one way

A peaceful family walk  

A walk synonymous with calm and discovery

The towpath between Albas and Luzech is one of those hidden nuggets of which only the locals know the secret. This very easily passable path, both for giants and tall adventurers, has the advantage of offering a relaxing walk full of delightful surprises! 
Indeed, this quiet and little frequented path will allow you to enjoy your walk while letting your children run around and let off steam freely. Flat and well maintained, it does not require any equipment or special preparation, except possibly a simple pair of binoculars to observe the wildlife around you. 

Hiker in the forest on the towpath to Albas
Hiker in the forest on the towpath to Albas
Mr Cochet

A bucolic walk in an enchanting setting 

As its name suggests, the towpath runs along the river. Located in the countryside, this path connects two charming villages in the Lot valley and the vineyard (Albas and Luzech), and crosses green and rural landscapes.  

The Enchanting Mirror Pack

You will then be captivated by the calm of the river reflecting the surrounding places like a mirror : Albas the pretty perched on its rocky outcrop, the many trees with a proud and imposing look established along the banks, the reflection of the indigo sky punctuated by a few cumulus... The impressive variety of flowers, each more colorful than the other, will bring an almost magical dimension to this enchanting setting worthy of the most beautiful Disney films.  

An inhabited river

The wonder will continue when you will see the many creatures of the local aquatic fauna evolving in complete serenity within this preserved ecosystem. Indeed, herons, wild ducks, swallows, salamanders, frogs, trout and many other local species are likely to appear during your excursion, thus causing general amazement. A word of advice: keep your eyes (and the hatches) wide open! 

Discover and understand the local territory

Grapes and vines on the towpath to Albas
Grapes and vines on the towpath to Albas
Mr Cochet
Local products with character

Along this path, you will have the opportunity to observe certain characteristic heritage elements of the Lot valley.  
Indeed, during your walk you will first of all be able to observe the presence of century-old vines, at the origin of the famous "Black Wine": Cahors Malbec. This observation will then be an opportunity to quickly explain to the youngest the process of making wine, thus preparing for a possible visit to one of our winegrowers. Continuing your walk you will notice the presence of many walnut groves. This culture thus illustrates one of the local gastronomic specialties : Périgord walnuts, which you can savor later in pie as is the tradition here!  

Visitor to the Tuscan garden of Albas
Visitor to the Tuscan garden of Albas
Mr Cochet
An enchanting architectural heritage

Finally, vou can observe the beautiful characteristic buildings of Quercy. These superb houses filled with charms will be for you theperfect opportunity to introduce certain notions of history and architecture to curious young people. Indeed, by observing and digging a little, you will learn, for example, the reason for this dovecote which is systematically found in the various properties... 

As you will have understood, the Albas-Luzech towpath promises one of the most successful walks! Indeed, it will allow you to walk in peace, and create memorable family memories. This excursion will also be the perfect context to educate your children by making them aware of the local fauna and flora, and to stimulate their curiosity by showing them the specific heritage of the region. 

The towpath between Albas and Luzech
The towpath between Albas and Luzech
Mr Cochet

Moreover, whatever the season, this path will reveal many wonders to you.. In summer, it will allow you to breathe and find a touch of appreciable freshness during very hot days. In autumn, you will be captivated by the shades of red and yellow of the surrounding groves. In winter, the frosted decors will propel you into a breathtaking and enchanting atmosphere. Spring will be an exciting time, when you can feel the sweetness of nature reborn, and succumb to the flamboyant colors of the many field flowers. 

My favorites
Your favorites

Vue rivière à Albas depuis le chemin de halage
Vue rivière à Albas depuis le chemin de halage
M. Cochet
En plein air

Le chemin de halage d'Albas - Luzech

Entre Albas et Luzech
Amoureux de balades en famille, vous souhaitez profiter de vos vacances avec votre tribu afin de découvrir de nouvelles merveilles ? L’ancien chemin de halage reliant Albas et Luzech est la promenade idéale pour ravir petits et grands ! Moins connu que le chemin de halage de Bouziès, ce chemin s’avère être tout aussi charmant, et surtout... beaucoup plus calme ! Très facile d’accès, cette petite excursion en famille vous permettra de vous retrouver, de rire et de discuter tous ensemble, et de découvrir les nombreuses curiosités de ce territoire de la vallée du Lot.  
Balade Aller-Retour
Départ d'Albas Parking à proximité du pont
Temps de marche 2h aller

Une promenade en famille en toute tranquillité  

Une balade synonyme de calme et de découverte

Le chemin de halage entre Albas et Luzech fait partie de ces pépites cachées dont seuls les locaux en ont le secret. Ce sentier très facilement praticable, aussi bien pour les géants que les aventuriers hauts comme trois pommes, a l’avantage de proposer une promenade reposante et pleine de ravissantes surprises ! 
En effet, ce chemin calme et peu fréquenté vous permettra de profiter de votre balade tout en laissant vos enfants courir et se défouler librement. Plat et bien entretenu, il ne nécessite pas de matériel ou de préparation particulière, si ce n’est éventuellement une simple paire de jumelle pour observer la faune sauvage qui vous entoure. 

Randonneuse en forêt sur le chemin de halage vers Albas
Randonneuse en forêt sur le chemin de halage vers Albas
M. Cochet

Une balade bucolique dans un cadre enchanteur 

Comme le laisse supposer son nom, le chemin de halage longe la rivière. Situé en pleine campagne, ce sentier relie deux charmants villages de la vallée du Lot et du vignoble (Albas et Luzech), et traverse des paysages verdoyants et champêtres.  

Le Lot miroir enchanteur

Vous serez alors subjugués par le calme de la rivière reflétant tel un miroir les lieux environnants : Albas la jolie perchée sur son éperon rocheux, les nombreux arbres à l’allure fière et imposante établis le long des berges, le reflet du ciel indigo ponctué par quelques cumulus... La variété impressionnante de fleurs toutes plus colorées les unes que les autres apportera une dimension quasi magique à ce cadre enchanteur digne des plus beaux films Disney.  

Une rivière habitée

L’émerveillement se poursuivra lorsque vous apercevrez les nombreuses créatures de la faune aquatique locale évoluer en toute sérénité au sein de cet écosystème préservé. En effet, hérons, canards sauvages, hirondelles, salamandres, grenouilles, truites et de nombreuses autres espèces locales sont susceptibles d’apparaître au cours de votre excursion, provoquant ainsi l’ébahissement général. Un conseil donc : gardez les yeux (et les écoutilles) grands ouverts ! 

Découvrir et comprendre le territoire local

Raisin et vignes sur le chemin de halage vers Albas
Raisin et vignes sur le chemin de halage vers Albas
M. Cochet
Des produits de terroir de caractère

Tout au long de ce chemin, vous aurez la possibilité d’observer certains éléments de patrimoine caractéristique de la vallée du Lot.  
En effet, au cours de votre promenade vous pourrez tout d’abord observer la présence de vignes séculaires, à l’origine du fameux « Black Wine » : le Cahors Malbec. Cette observation sera alors l’occasion d’expliquer rapidement aux plus jeunes le processus de fabrication du vin, préparant ainsi une éventuelle visite chez l’un de nos vignerons. En continuant votre balade vous constaterez la présence de nombreuses noyeraies. Cette culture illustre ainsi une des spécialités gastronomiques locales : la noix du Périgord, que vous pourrez savourer par la suite en tarte comme le veut la tradition ici !  

Visiteuse au jardin Toscan d'Albas
Visiteuse au jardin Toscan d'Albas
M. Cochet
Un patrimoine architectural enchanteur

Enfin, vous pourrez observer les belles bâtisses caractéristiques du Quercy. Ces superbes maisons remplies de charmes seront pour vous l’occasion parfaite d’introduire certaines notions d’histoire et d’architecture aux jeunes curieux. En effet, en observant et en creusant un peu, vous apprendrez par exemple la raison de ce pigeonnier que l’on retrouve systématiquement dans les diverses propriétés... 

Vous l’aurez compris, le chemin de halage d'Albas-Luzech promet une promenade des plus réussies ! En effet, elle vous permettra de vous balader dans le calme, et de créer des souvenirs mémorables en famille. Cette excursion sera également le contexte parfait pour instruire vos enfants en les sensibilisant à la faune et à la flore locale, et stimuler leur curiosité en leur montrant les spécificités patrimoniales de la région. 

Le chemin de halage entre Albas et Luzech
Le chemin de halage entre Albas et Luzech
M. Cochet

De plus, quelle que soit la saison, ce chemin vous révèlera de nombreuses merveilles. En été, il vous permettra de respirer et trouver un brin de fraîcheur appréciable durant les journées de grosses chaleurs. En automne, vous serez subjugués par les camaïeux de rouges et de jaunes des bosquets environnants. En hiver, les décors givrés vous propulseront dans une atmosphère époustouflante et enchanteresse. Le printemps sera un moment passionnant, où vous pourrez ressentir la douceur de la nature qui renaît, et succomber aux couleurs flamboyantes des nombreuses fleurs des champs. 

Mes favoris
Vos coups de cœur