Valentre Bridge in Cahors
Valentre Bridge in Cahors
Lot Tourisme - G. Giuglio
Quai Champollion in Cahors
Quai Champollion in Cahors
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello
Port Bullier in Cahors
Port Bullier in Cahors
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello
Discover

Cahors and the Valentré bridge

Cahors
Sublime Roman city, which became a prestigious city during the Middle Ages, Cahors will enchant you with its many alleyways in the style of yesteryear, its exceptional historical monuments (including its emblematic Valentré bridge), and its breathtaking panoramas.

Cahors: a Lot marvel 

A city steeped in history

A clever mix between Antiquity and the Middle Ages

City of art and history, the town of Cahors has a particularly rich past. Whether during the Roman era, the dark times of the Middle Ages, the influence of the Renaissance or our contemporary era, you will find many traces of these periods that have marked history. Indeed, between vestiges dating from Roman antiquity, medieval half-timbered houses and/or sublime twin bays, and historical monuments listed as UNESCO World Heritage, you will learn more about the rich past of the Cadurcian city.

A step-by-step tour of the Cadurcian city

Valentre Bridge in Cahors
Valentre Bridge in Cahors
Lot Tourisme - T.Verneuil
Without forgetting our fame...
The emblem of Cahors

The Valentre bridge

It is difficult to talk about our beautiful Cahors without mentioning its famous Valentré bridge, listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site as part of the pilgrimage route to Santiago de Compostela. With three defensive towers dating from the XNUMXth century, this majestic building will transport you to a fabulous travel through time. Take the time to admire it, to listen to it, to feel it. The atmosphere is such that you will succumb to its overwhelming charm. 

Discover the Pont Valentré

A city with a predominant nature

When naturalness becomes part of the city world

The town of Cahors has a close relationship with the nature that surrounds it. Nestled in the hollow of one of the meanders of the Lot River, this town stands out thanks to a perfect symbiosis between the city world and the rural world. In fact, the surrounding cliffs that structure the city offer sumptuous paintings with marked and wooded reliefs, no matter where you are. The sounds of birds and the river are also omnipresent, allowing you to savor the excitement of the city in a serene atmosphere. 

An oasis of humanity within a rural and wild territory, this small town will give you a breath of fresh air. 

Aerial view of Cahors and the Lot
Aerial view of Cahors and the Lot
Lot Tourisme - T.Verneuil

Take the time to admire

The secret gardens of Cahors
The secret gardens of Cahors
J.Morel

In the city of Cahors hides a secret: 20 gardens from medieval times are scattered there! Follow in the footsteps of these secret gardens who will teach you more about the Cadurcian city. Bubbles of freshness and vegetal with poetic notes, you will appreciate these moments of breaks in the shade of lush vegetation, and you will be intoxicated by the floral notes caressing your nose. 

Located at strategic points, you will be amazed by the streets, the monuments, the viewpoints that you will be led to discover. A gentle walk that will appeal to the whole family!

Let's go!

Sunset from Mont Saint-Cyr
Sunset from Mont Saint-Cyr
Lot Tourisme - T.Verneuil

On the outskirts of the city, impressive cliffs hug the Caduran city gently. Savor this sublime painting by taking to the skies! 

Mont Saint-Cyr will allow you to observe the beauty of the historic center and its cathedral. We recommend that you go there at the end of the day, when the sunset will offer you a grandiose spectacle.

From the Magne cross, an unprecedented vision of Valentre bridge and its hilly landscape in the background will be offered to you. The perfect spot for a contemplative break in complete confidentiality.

The top 14 viewpoints of the destination

 

A city with a delicious art of living

Colorful gastronomy and markets 

If we had to designate a characteristic common to the inhabitants of Cahors, the art of living would definitely stand out! Between the famous wine of the same name as the city and its Malbec grape variety, its generous gastronomy and its fabulous colorful market (which is also classified in France among the exceptional markets and the 25 most beautiful markets), we can affirm that the Cadurciens know how to savor the sweetness of life. 

To fully experience this art of living, we recommend that you come to Cahors on Wednesday or Saturday mornings in order to take advantage of the market which is located on the forecourt of the Saint-Etienne cathedral (monument classified by UNESCO under the paths of Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle) and around the sublime market hall of the city, a high place of fine gastronomy. 

Cahors market alley
Cahors market alley
C. Novello - Lot Tourisme

You will find on our destination ofother charming markets where passionate producers go every week to offer many local products and regional specialties. Rocamadour cheese, Périgord walnuts, Quercy lamb, truffles, pastis, mic... But also local beer, and Cahors wine of course ! 

Do not miss this tasty event which will make you discover the essential dishes of our country!

My favorites
Your favorites

Pont Valentré à Cahors
Pont Valentré à Cahors
Lot Tourisme - G. Giuglio
Quai Champollion à Cahors
Quai Champollion à Cahors
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello
Port Bullier à Cahors
Port Bullier à Cahors
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello
Cahors
Sublime cité romaine, devenue ville de prestige au cours du Moyen-Âge, Cahors vous envoûtera avec ses multiples ruelles au style d'antan, ses monuments historiques exceptionnels (dont son emblématique pont Valentré), et ses panoramas à couper le souffle.

Cahors : une merveille lotoise 

Une ville chargée d'histoire

Un savant mélange entre Antiquité et Moyen-Âge

Ville d'art et d'histoire, la ville de Cahors possède un passé particulièrement riche. Que ce soit durant l'aire romaine, les temps sombres du Moyen-Âge, le rayonnement de la Renaissance ou notre époque contemporaine, vous retrouverez de nombreuses traces de ces périodes qui ont marqué l'Histoire. En effet, entre vestiges datant l'antiquité romaine, maisons médiévales à colombages et/ou aux sublimes baies géminées, et monuments historiques classés au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, vous en apprendrez plus sur le riche passé de la cité cadurcienne.

Une visite pas à pas de la cité Cadurcienne

Pont Valentré à Cahors
Pont Valentré à Cahors
Lot Tourisme - T. Verneuil
Sans oublier notre célébrité...
L'emblème de Cahors

Le pont Valentré

Difficile de parler de notre belle Cahors sans évoquer son célébrissime pont Valentré, classé au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO au titre des chemins de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle. Doté de trois tours de défenses datant du XIVème siècle, ce majestueux édifice vous transportera dans un fabuleux voyage à travers le temps. Prenez le temps de l'admirer, de l'écouter, de le ressentir. L'atmosphère y est telle que vous succomberez à son charme bouleversant. 

Découvrez le Pont Valentré

Une ville à la nature prédominante

Quand la naturalité s'intègre au monde citadin

La ville de Cahors possède un rapport étroit avec la nature qui l'entoure. Lovée au creux d'un des méandres de la rivière Lot, cette ville se démarque grâce à une parfaite symbiose entre l'univers citadin et le monde rural. De fait, les falaises environnantes qui structurent la ville offrent de somptueux tableaux aux reliefs marqués et boisés, et ce peu importe où vous vous situez. Les sons des oiseaux et de la rivière sont également omniprésents, vous permettant ainsi de savourer l'effervescence de la ville dans une atmosphère sereine. 

Oasis d'humanité au sein d'un territoire rural et sauvage, cette petite ville vous insufflera une grande bouffée d'air frais. 

Vue aérienne de Cahors et du Lot
Vue aérienne de Cahors et du Lot
Lot Tourisme - T. Verneuil

Prenez le temps d'admirer

Les jardins secrets de Cahors
Les jardins secrets de Cahors
J. Morel

Dans la ville de Cahors recèle un secret : 20 jardins issus des temps médiévaux y sont dispersés ! Suivez les traces de ces jardins secrets qui vous en apprendront plus sur la cité cadurcienne. Bulles de fraîcheur et végétales aux notes poétiques, vous apprécierez ces moments de pauses à l'ombre d'une végétation luxuriante, et vous serez enivrés par les notes florales caressant votre nez. 

Situés à des points stratégiques, vous serez émerveillés par les rues, les monuments, les points de vue que vous serez amenés à découvrir. Une douce promenade qui séduira toute la famille !

Allons y !

Coucher de soleil depuis le mont Saint-Cyr
Coucher de soleil depuis le mont Saint-Cyr
Lot Tourisme - T. Verneuil

Aux abords de la ville, d'impressionnantes falaises étreignent la cité cadurcienne avec douceur. Savourez ce sublime tableau en prenant de la hauteur ! 

Le mont Saint-Cyr vous permettra d'observer la beauté du centre historique et de sa cathédrale. Nous vous recommandons de vous y rendre à la fin de journée, où le coucher de soleil vous offrira un spectacle grandiose.

Depuis la croix Magne, une vision innédite du pont Valentré et de son paysage valloné en arrière plan s'offrira à vous. Le spot parfait pour une pause contemplative en toute confidentialité.

Le top 14 des points de vue de la destination

 

Une ville au délicieux art de vivre

Une gastronomie et des marchés hauts en couleurs 

Si l'on devait désigner une caractéristique commune aux habitants de Cahors, l'art de vivre ressortirait assurément ! Entre le célèbre vin du même nom que la ville et son cépage Malbec, sa gastronomie généreuse et son fabuleux marché coloré (qui est d'ailleurs classé en France parmi les marchés d’exception et les 25 plus beaux marchés), nous pouvons affirmer que les cadurciens savent savourer les douceurs de la vie. 

Pour ressentir pleinement cet art de vivre, nous vous recommandons de venir à Cahors le mercredi ou le samedi matins afin de profiter du marché qui se situe sur le parvis de la cathédrale Saint-Etienne (monument classé à l'UNESCO au titre des chemins de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle) et autour de la sublime halle de la ville, haut lieu de gastronomie fine. 

Allée du marché de Cahors
Allée du marché de Cahors
C. Novello - Lot Tourisme

Vous trouverez sur notre destination d'autres charmants marchés où producteurs passionnés se rendent chaque semaine afin de proposer nombreux produits locaux et spécialités régionales. Fromage Rocamadour, noix du Périgord, agneau du Quercy, truffe, pastis, mique... Mais aussi bière locale, et vin de Cahors bien entendu ! 

Ne râtez pas ce rendez-vous savoureux qui vous fera découvrir les plats incontournables de notre pays !

Mes favoris
Vos coups de cœur