E. Hernandez
White path in Quercy Blanc
White path in Quercy Blanc
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello
Place des Consuls in Montcuq
Place des Consuls in Montcuq
E.Hernandez
Windmill in Castelnau-Montratier
Windmill in Castelnau-Montratier
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello
Aerial view of the village of Montcuq
Aerial view of the village of Montcuq
Lot Tourisme - J. Morel
At the heart of Quercy Blanc
Taking your time in Quercy Blanc means living the present time in the colors of a prestigious past.

Far from the verdant Lot valley, here the earth changes color and takes on the white hue of the chalky limestone characteristic of this terroir. Along the sandstone plantations, the landscapes light up with a thousand colours: Quercy melons, fields of lavender and sunflowers, AOC Coteaux du Quercy vines, truffle oaks or even wild orchids growing along the hiking trails.

Montcuq (we pronounce the Q)

Aerial view of Montcuq
Aerial view of Montcuq
Lot Tourisme - Dronexplorer - A. Calvayrac

We smile first, then we hum, we finally admire.

It's obvious Montcuq rose to fame with its mere name, but the village deserves your attention for many more reasons. After Nino Ferrer, emblematic singer of the 60s, who chose to live in Montcuq, we like to think that the village is inspiring, since many artists and craftsmen have settled there.

Montcuq also tells you its story with its Tower of the Counts of Toulouse, erected at the end of the 100th century and the castle town developed at its feet. Ruined by the Hundred Years War, the village was rebuilt in the XNUMXth century with half-timbered houses.

It is in the middle of this authentic setting that the market flourishes every Sunday morning, one of the most famous in the Lot.

Visit Montcuq

Rue du petit rapporteur and sculpture of the Petit Montcuquois in Montcuq
Rue du petit rapporteur and sculpture of the Petit Montcuquois in Montcuq
E.Hernandez
Zoom on ...

The little protractor

In 1976, Jacques Martin's television program "The Little Protractor" highlights and humors the little village of Montcuq under the comical allusions of Pierre Bonte and Daniel Prévost who solemnly declares, with a smirk: "For the first time, I am happy to show you Montcuq on television", in front of the village sign. The fame of this small village of Quercy white was done! 

All in humor and recognition, Montcuq, in 2007, renamed the beautiful medieval alley from the heart of the village "rue du Petit rapporteur" in the presence of Pierre Bonte.

A color palette

Like any work of art, Quercy is above all a blank canvas. the stone limestone marks the natural but also cultural landscapes: houses, churches, mills, dry stone walls, ... and it is against this backdrop that a palette of lively and luminous colors will delight your discovery.

Field of sunflowers in Flaugnac
Field of sunflowers in Flaugnac
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello

The yellow of sunflower fields, like thousands of suns, will guide you through the winding roads. The shades of purple lavender plantations with an intoxicating fragrance that will give birth to essential oils and local floral waters. The green of oak forests which invite to walks, bike rides, horseback riding and make up a refreshing green setting in the middle of the causses.

A small heritage that speaks volumes

At the bend of the valleys, hides a rich and preserved heritage: wind mill proudly erected on the heights, Romanesque churches with discreet charm, the Montcuq Castrum and its count's tower or the medieval village of Castelnau-Montratier and its appearance of a bastide.

The bastides

Saint-Martin church in Castelnau-Montratier
Saint-Martin church in Castelnau-Montratier
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello

The South of the Lot is full of Bastides, the “new towns” of the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries. Among them, Castelnau-Montratier will hold your attention. It responds to the standard plan: a central covered square and arcades, an outlying church and a parcel plan or checkerboard, composed of straight and parallel streets with houses and gardens. But it has an extra soul, that of its inhabitants and in particular of its artists who dress it with their decor every summer. Art and history blend together harmoniously.

Other bastides have been waiting for you for a long time:

  • Labastide-Marnhac
  • Beautiful eyes
  • Castelfranc
  • Labastide-du-vert

The windmills

Moulin de Boisse in Sainte-Alauzie in the heart of Quercy Blanc
Moulin de Boisse in Sainte-Alauzie in the heart of Quercy Blanc
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello

The mills are the emblematic signature of white Quercy. In Quercy Blanc 3 windmills unite their power to seduce you: Castelnau-Montratier, the oldest of all, from the XNUMXth century; in Boisse, it is from the XNUMXth century, classified as a historical monument and above all in working order; in Ramps, it is worth the detour with its original “mile marker”, which marked out the Roman roads.

And to know everything about these wind elves, the Planet of the Mills museum - as its name suggests - takes you to another universe when you walk through the door. Moving models, reconstructions, mechanisms... it's fun and educational. The mills will have no more secrets for you.

At the Moulin de Boisse in Sainte-Alauzie
At the Moulin de Boisse in Sainte-Alauzie
Lot Tourisme - P.Soissons
Zoom on ...
Turn, turn

small mill

In Quercy, wind and water have long allowed men to relieve their work. Whether windmills or watermills, discover the most beautiful mills in the Lot.

Boisse Mill
Lavender from Quercy
Lavender from Quercy
E.Hernandez
Zoom on ...
Let's take a walk

in the lavender fields

The cultivation of lavender is an activity inseparable from Quercy which, after a few decades of dormancy, is blooming again on the causses to (re)become an exceptional product.

Lavender cultivation in Quercy
Place des Consuls in Montcuq
Place des Consuls in Montcuq
E.Hernandez
Zoom on ...
A day at

Montcuq

Montcuq makes you smile, seduces you, animates you, tells stories. Montcuq will be etched in your memory with much more than just its name...

Visit Montcuq
Vineyards of the Quercy hills
Vineyards of the Quercy hills
Lot Tourisme - P Soissons
Zoom on ...
AOP Coteaux du Quercy

a vineyard with character

Straddling two departments: Lot and Tarn-et-Garonne, the AOP Coteaux du Quercy flourishes on clay-limestone soils and in a climate with a dual influence (oceanic and Mediterranean). Let yourself be enchanted by its fruity and spicy aromas.

The wines of the Coteaux du Quercy AOP
My favorites
Your favorites

Vue aérienne du village de Montcuq
Vue aérienne du village de Montcuq
Lot Tourisme - J. Morel
Chemin blanc en Quercy Blanc
Chemin blanc en Quercy Blanc
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello
Moulin à Castelnau-Montratier
Moulin à Castelnau-Montratier
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello
Au cœur du Quercy Blanc
Prendre son temps en Quercy Blanc, c’est vivre le temps présent aux couleurs d’un passé prestigieux.

Loin de la verdoyante vallée du Lot, ici la terre change de couleur et prend la teinte blanche de la pierre calcaire crayeuse caractéristique de ce terroir. Au grès des plantations, les paysages s’éclairent pourtant de mille couleurs : melons de Quercy, champs de lavandes et de tournesols, vignes AOC Coteaux du Quercy, chênes truffiers ou encore orchidées sauvages poussant le long des sentiers de randonnée.

Montcuq (on prononce le Q)

Vue aérienne de Montcuq
Vue aérienne de Montcuq
Lot Tourisme - Dronexplorer - A. Calvayrac

On sourit d’abord, on chantonne ensuite, on admire enfin.

C’est évident Montcuq a connu la gloire avec son simple nom, mais le village mérite votre attention pour beaucoup plus de raisons. Après Nino Ferrer, chanteur emblématique des 60’s, qui choisit de vivre à Montcuq, on se plaît à penser que le village est inspirant, puisque de nombreux artistes et artisans d’art s’y sont installés.

Montcuq vous raconte aussi son histoire avec sa Tour des comtes de Toulouse, érigée fin XIIème et le bourg castral développé à ses pieds. Ruiné par la Guerre de 100 ans, le village se reconstruit au XVème siècle en maisons à pans de bois.

C’est au milieu de ce décor authentique que le marché s’épanouit chaque dimanche matin, l’un des plus réputés du Lot.

Rue du petit rapporteur et sculpture du petit Montcuquois à Montcuq
Rue du petit rapporteur et sculpture du petit Montcuquois à Montcuq
E. Hernandez
Zoom sur ...

Le petit rapporteur

En 1976, l’émission télévisée de Jacques Martin "Le petit rapporteur" met en lumière et en humour le petit village de Montcuq sous les allusions cocasses de Pierre Bonte et Daniel Prévost qui déclare solennellement, avec un sourire en coin : "Pour la première fois, je suis heureux de vous montrer Montcuq à la télévision", devant le panneau du village. La renommée de ce petit village du Quercy blanc était faite ! 

Tout en humour et en reconnaissance, Montcuq a, en 2007, rebaptisée la belle ruelle médiévale du coeur du bourg "rue du Petit rapporteur" en présence de Pierre Bonte.

Une palette de couleurs

Comme toute oeuvre d'art, le Quercy est avant tout une toile blanche. Le calcaire de la pierre marque les paysages naturel mais aussi culturel : maisons, églises, moulins, murets de pierres sèches, ... et c'est sur ce cadre de fond qu'une palette de couleurs vives et lumineuses enchantera votre découverte.

Champ de tournesols à Flaugnac
Champ de tournesols à Flaugnac
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello

Le jaune des champs de tournesols, tels des milliers de soleils, vous guideront à travers les routes sinueuses. Les nuances de violets des plantations de lavandes au parfum ennivrant qui donneront naissance aux huiles essentielles et eaux florales locales. Le vert des forêts de chênes qui invitent aux balades à pied, à vélo, à cheval et composent un écrin de verdure rafraîchissant au milieu des causses.

Un petit patrimoine qui en dit long

Au détour des vallées, se cache un patrimoine riche et préservé : moulins à vent fièrement dressés sur les hauteurs, églises romanes au charme discret, le castrum de Montcuq et sa tour comtale ou encore le bourg médiéval de Castelnau-Montratier et ses allures de bastide.

Les bastides

Eglise Saint-Martin à Castelnau-Montratier
Eglise Saint-Martin à Castelnau-Montratier
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello

Le Sud du Lot regorge de bastides, les « villes nouvelles » des XIIIème et XIVème siècles. Parmi elles, Castelnau-Montratier retiendra votre attention. Elle répond au plan-type : une place centrale à couverts et arcades, une église excentrée et un plan parcellaire ou à damiers, composé de rues droites et parallèles avec maisons et jardins. Mais elle a un supplément d’âme, celle de ses habitants et notamment de ses artistes qui l’habillent de leurs décors chaque été. Art et histoire s’y mélangent avec harmonie.

D’autres bastides vous attendent depuis bien longtemps :

  • Labastide-Marnhac
  • Beauregard
  • Castelfranc
  • Labastide-du-vert

Les moulins

Moulin de Boisse à Sainte-Alauzie au cœur du Quercy Blanc
Moulin de Boisse à Sainte-Alauzie au cœur du Quercy Blanc
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello

Les moulins sont la signature emblématique du Quercy blanc. En Quercy Blanc 3 moulins à vent unissent leur puissance pour vous séduire : Castelnau-Montratier, le plus ancien de tous, du XVème siècle ; à Boisse, il est du XIème siècle, classé monument historique et surtout en état de marche ; à Ramps, il vaut le détour avec sa « borne milliaire » d’origine, qui jalonnait les voies romaines.

Et pour tout connaître sur ces elfes du vent, le musée La planète des moulins -comme son nom l’indique- vous emmène vers un autre univers en franchissant la porte. Maquettes en mouvement, reconstitutions, mécanismes... c’est ludique et pédagogique. Les moulins n'auront plus de secret pour vous.

Au Moulin de Boisse à Sainte-Alauzie
Au Moulin de Boisse à Sainte-Alauzie
Lot Tourisme - P. Soissons
Zoom sur ...
Tourne, Tourne

petit moulin

En Quercy, le vent et l'eau ont longtemps permis aux hommes de soulager leur travail. Que ce soit des moulins à vent ou des moulins à eau, découvrez les plus beaux moulins du Lot.

Moulin de Boisse
Lavandes du Quercy
Lavandes du Quercy
E. Hernandez
Zoom sur ...
Promenons nous

dans les champs de lavandes

La culture de la lavande est une activité indissociable du Quercy qui, après quelques décennies de mise en sommeil, refleurit sur les causses pour (re)devenir un produit d’exception.

Place des Consuls à Montcuq
Place des Consuls à Montcuq
E. Hernandez
Zoom sur ...
Une journée à

Montcuq

Montcuq vous fait sourire, vous séduit, vous anime, se raconte. Montcuq s’inscrira dans votre mémoire avec beaucoup plus que son simple nom ...

Visitez Montcuq
Vignoble des coteaux du Quercy
Vignoble des coteaux du Quercy
Lot Tourisme - P Soissons
Zoom sur ...
AOP Coteaux du Quercy

un vignoble de caractère

À cheval sur deux départements : le Lot et le Tarn-et-Garonne, l'AOP Coteaux du Quercy s'épanoui sur des terres argilo-calcaires et sous un climat à la double influence (océanique et méditerranéenne). Laissez vous envouter par ses arômes fruités et épicés.

Les vins des Coteaux du Quercy AOP
Mes favoris
Vos coups de cœur