Canoeing in the Célé Valley
Canoeing in the Célé Valley
C. Pelaprat
Sheep in the Célé Valley
Sheep in the Célé Valley
C. Novello
Sunrise over the Célé Valley
Sunrise over the Célé Valley
E.Leconte
Aerial view of Cabrerets
Aerial view of Cabrerets
C. Novello
Cabrerets Mill
Cabrerets Mill
C. Novello
From Figeac in Bouzies
Less known, but to be discovered; wilder, but to be conquered; more secret, but she has everything to reveal to you. From Figeac to Conduché, a stone's throw from Saint-Cirq Lapopie, the Célé Valley has everything to seduce you.

Coming to the Célé Valley is an epic. More nature! More heritage! More activities, it's just your program. Your kingdom will be that of the Vallée du Célé, a tributary of the Lot between Saint-Cirq Lapopie and Cahors. You will live history at the bend of a path, breathe the well-being of the Lot in the heart of a causse, discover a bit of forgotten heritage during a walk and be amazed by a point of view that was waiting for you. than you to exist.

Nature or culture?

Both of course! La Vallée du Célé always gives you the choice. Between life-size landscapes and villages, caves, ecomuseum and stone castles, it's history in a setting... it's nature adorned with the most beautiful jewels.

The castles of the English, when they are dug into the cliff, will whisper in your ears epic stories, medieval tales, during which young and old will let their imagination run wild, pursuing chimeras and legends.

Pterosaur Beach
Pterosaur Beach
Pterosaur Beach
Family discovery of caselles
Family discovery of caselles
C.Asquier

The Vallée du Célé plays its unique card in all circumstances. The sports card above all: canoeing, caving, climbing, hiking... even the Way of Saint-Jacques de Compostelle traced a crossroads there.

For the canoe, all the ingredients for a successful descent are there: a succession of beaches, small passenger rapids, canoe passes and everywhere around, nature, nature and nature. The cliffs surround you, ready to be climbed or passed via ferrata. Or you can cross from one to the other by zipline. From one end to the other, the sports activities multiply and can tire you, but always with excellent memories.

Swimming and picnicking, without moderation

When the hour of rest strikes, you will find the places arranged to allow you to devour your picnic. They are distributed along the river: quiet, shaded, at the edge of the water, they will invite you to swim or take a siesta, indifferently or successively.

For swimming, you will find what you are looking for: small or deeper depths for diving, pebble beaches to entertain the little ones, always looking for the most beautiful pebble... Sometimes even a large family of ducks, with the little ones following mum , will come to keep them company. Nature is everywhere and wildlife is at home. Small fish are also waiting to grow in these aquatic spaces.

English castle of Cabrerets
English castle of Cabrerets
L. Da Ascencao
On your way...

English castles

Three castles are still visible today : the Devil's castle of Cabrerets, the English castle of Sauliac-sur-Célé and that of Brengues. For security reasons and access difficulties, these sites are not open to the public. You can still observe them from the bottom of the valleys and admire their architecture.

Troglodyte houses against the cliff in Cabrerets
Troglodyte houses against the cliff in Cabrerets
C. Novello
On your way...

The troglodyte houses

The Vallée du Célé is a surprise at every step, in the village of Cabrerets, there are pretty semi-troglodyte houses along the river. They are private, you can't go inside, but you can of course admire them from the road and take nice pictures. 

The village and the abbey of Marcilhac-sur-Célé
The village and the abbey of Marcilhac-sur-Célé
T.Verneuil
On your way...

The abbey of Marcilhac-sur-Célé

A treasure is hidden in the Célé Valley, a superb abbey whose 2 eardrums are the oldest in Europe! Between cliffs and rivers, you will be charmed.

Just as pretty, the priory of Espagnac-Sainte-Eulalie is also to be discovered.

Marcilhac Abbey

After the terrestrial food, the horizontal descent and the vertical ascent, remains the hike in Time: la Cave of Pech Merle in Cabrerets opens this path to you: concretions, paintings easy to observe, dating from -29 years ago and a history embodied by guides, all the more passionate as some are from the village.

Traverse in Time again with theEcomuseum of Cuzals, which makes its hectares of nature available to visitors to help you better understand the ancestral ways of life in Quercy... Which will amuse the children even more, because a fine collection of tractors awaits them there. Animations, demonstrations, exhibitions, make the whole as lively and experiential as at the time it evokes.

The Vallée du Célé is a small path of nature and history, a preserved place that reveals itself when curiosity is expressed. It is a haven of peace and laughter, depending on the day, punctuated with charming little villages and walks, which will immerse you in the heart of everything that makes the charm and value of Causses du Quercy Regional Natural Park. Caselles, gariottes, dry stone walls, oak forests, dry lawns, GR… all these treasures and many more have found refuge in this Célé Valley, to be discovered and experienced, again and again.

My favorites
Your favorites

Canoë dans la Vallée du Célé
Canoë dans la Vallée du Célé
C. Pelaprat
Moutons dans la vallée du Célé
Moutons dans la vallée du Célé
C. Novello
Lever de soleil sur la vallée du Célé
Lever de soleil sur la vallée du Célé
E. Leconte
Vue aérienne de Cabrerets
Vue aérienne de Cabrerets
C. Novello
Moulin de Cabrerets
Moulin de Cabrerets
C. Novello
Découvrez

La vallée du Célé, paradis des activités sportives

De Figeac à Bouziès
Moins connue, mais à découvrir ; plus sauvage, mais à conquérir ; plus secrète, mais elle a tout à vous dévoiler. De Figeac à Conduché, à 2 pas de Saint-Cirq Lapopie, la Vallée du Célé a tout pour vous séduire.

Venir en Vallée du Célé, c’est une épopée. Plus de nature ! Plus de patrimoine ! Plus d’activités, c’est tout simplement votre programme. Votre royaume sera celui de la Vallée du Célé, un affluant du Lot entre Saint-Cirq Lapopie et Cahors. Vous vivrez l’histoire au détour d’un chemin, respirerez le bien-être du Lot au coeur d’un causse, découvrirez un peu de patrimoine oublié au cours d’une balade et serez émerveillé par un point de vue qui n’attendez que vous pour exister.

Nature ou culture ?

Les deux bien sûr ! La Vallée du Célé vous donne toujours le choix. Entre paysages grandeur nature et villages, grottes, écomusée et châteaux de pierre, c’est l’histoire dans un écrin… c'est la nature parée des plus beaux joyaux.

Les châteaux des Anglais, lorsqu’ils sont creusés dans la falaise vous souffleront à l’oreille des histoires épiques, des contes médiévaux, au cours desquels petits et grands laisseront courir leur imagination, poursuivant chimères et légendes.

Découverte en famille des caselles
Découverte en famille des caselles
C. Asquier

La Vallée du Célé joue en toutes circonstances sa carte singulière. La carte sportive avant tout : canoë, spéléologie, escalade, randonnée… même le Chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle y a tracé un chemin de traverse.

Pour le canoë, tous les ingrédients d’une descente réussie sont réunies : une succession de plages, de petits rapides passagers, de passes à canoë et partout autour la nature, la nature et la nature. Les falaises vous entourent, prêtes à être escaladées ou passées en via-ferrata. Ou vous pouvez traverser de l’une à l’autre en tyrolienne. D’un bout à l’autre, les activités sportives se multiplient et peuvent vous fatiguer, mais toujours avec d’excellents souvenirs.

Baignade et pique-nique, sans modération

Quand l’heure du repos sonne, vous trouverez les endroits aménagés pour vous permettre de dévorer votre pique-nique. Ils sont répartis le long de la rivière : tranquilles, ombragés, au bord de l’eau, ils vous inviteront à la baignade ou à la sieste, indifféremment ou successivement.

Pour la baignade, vous trouverez ce que vous cherchez : petites profondeurs ou plus grandes pour les plongeons, plages de galets pour amuser les plus petits, toujours à la recherche du plus beau caillou… Parfois même une famille nombreuse de canards, avec les petits à la suite de maman, viendront leur tenir compagnie. La nature est partout et la faune est chez elle. Les petits poissons attendent aussi de grandir dans ces espaces aquatiques.

Château des anglais de Cabrerets
Château des anglais de Cabrerets
L. Da Ascençao
Sur votre route...

Les châteaux des anglais

Trois châteaux sont encore visibles aujourd'hui : le château du Diable de Cabrerets, le château des anglais de Sauliac-sur-Célé et celui de Brengues. Pour des raisons de sécurité et de difficultés d'accès, ces sites ne sont pas ouverts au public. Vous pourrez tout de même les observer depuis le bas des vallées et admirer leurs architectures.

Maisons troglodytes contre la falaise à Cabrerets
Maisons troglodytes contre la falaise à Cabrerets
C. Novello
Sur votre route...

Les maisons troglodytes

La Vallée du Célé c'est une surprise à chaque pas, dans le village de Cabrerets il y a de jolies maisons semi-troglodytes le long de la rivière. Elles sont privées, on ne peut pas y rentrer mais on peut bien sûr les admirer depuis la route et faire de jolies photos. 

Le village et l'abbaye de Marcilhac-sur-Célé
Le village et l'abbaye de Marcilhac-sur-Célé
T. Verneuil
Sur votre route...

L'abbaye de Marcilhac-sur-Célé

Un trésor se cache dans la Vallée du Célé, une superbe abbaye dont les 2 tympans sont les plus vieux d'Europe ! Entre falaises et rivières vous serez charmez.

Tout aussi joli, le prieuré d'Espagnac-Sainte-Eulalie est aussi à découvrir.

Abbaye de Marcilhac

Après la nourriture terrestre, la descente horizontale et l’ascension verticale, reste la randonnée dans le Temps : la Grotte du Pech Merle à Cabrerets vous ouvre ce chemin : des concrétions, des peintures faciles à observer, datant de -29 000 ans et une histoire incarnée par des guides, d’autant plus passionnés que certains sont du village.

Traversée dans le Temps encore avec l’Écomusée de Cuzals, qui met à disposition des visiteurs ses hectares de nature pour vous aider à mieux comprendre les modes de vie ancestraux du Quercy… Ce qui amusera encore plus les enfants, car une belle collection de tracteurs les y attend. Des animations, démonstrations, expositions, rendent l’ensemble aussi vivant et expérienciel qu’à l’époque qu’il évoque.

La Vallée du Célé, c’est un petit chemin de nature et d’histoire, un lieu préservé qui se dévoile, lorsque la curiosité s’exprime. C’est un havre de paix et de rires, selon les jours, ponctué de petits villages charmants et de circuits de balades, qui vous plongeront au coeur de tout ce qui fait le charme et la valeur du Parc Naturel Régional des Causses du Quercy. Caselles, gariottes, murets de pierre sèche, forêts de chênes, pelouses sèches, GR… tous ces trésors et bien d’autres encore ont trouvé refuge dans cette Vallée du Célé, à découvrir et vivre, encore et toujours.

Mes favoris
Vos coups de cœur