The igue de Crégols
The igue de Crégols
C. Bouthé - Vent d'Autan
Walk to discover the flora of the Causses du Quercy PNR
Walk to discover the flora of the Causses du Quercy PNR
C. Pelaprat
Canoeing on the Lot along the towpath to Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Canoeing on the Lot along the towpath to Saint-Cirq Lapopie
J.Morel
Aerial view of Saint-Cirq-Lapopie
Aerial view of Saint-Cirq-Lapopie
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello
Mountain biking in the Causses du Quercy PNR
Mountain biking in the Causses du Quercy PNR
C. Pelaprat
Discover

The Causses du Quercy, UNESCO Global Geopark

A very rich fauna and flora but also important cultural sites such as the Gouffre de Padirac, the Grottes du Pech Merle, the Phosphatières du Cloup d'Aural or even Saint-Cirq Lapopie in the south and Rocamadour in the very north.

Discover the Causses du Quercy Regional Natural Park, UNESCO Global Geopark since May 1, 2017, by walking or cycling the limestone plateaus covered with dry grasslands or oak forests. Let yourself be carried away to the rhythm of the river by boat or canoe, in the heart of surprising cliffs.

The Causses of the Regional Natural Park

Caselle on the causse in Espédaillac
Caselle on the causse in Espédaillac
C.Asquier

There are three causses (characteristic karstic plateaus) within the Causses du Quercy Regional Natural Park. These are the Causses of Gramat, Saint-Chels and Limogne.

These territories are very dry and suitable for sheep farming. There are many caves and underground caverns sculpted by water.

Fauna and flora are very present in the Causse de Limogne, on a wooded area covered with dry lawns. There is also scams (also called "black diamond" for its value and rarity) in its basements.

You will be able to discover in the Causse de Limogne, a rich and varied landscape through various long-distance hiking routes, in particular the Way of Saint-Jacques de Compostelle.

The Causse of Limogne

Gateway to the Causses du Quercy Regional Natural Park, south of Cahors, the Causse of Limogne stands out for its uniqueness and originality. Remarkable natural architecture, hiking trails and local products, make this little-known place a unique place to discover and explore.

Pterosaur Beach
Pterosaur Beach
Pterosaur Beach

Causses du Quercy: UNESCO Global Geopark

Walk to discover the flora of the Causses du Quercy PNR
Walk to discover the flora of the Causses du Quercy PNR
C. Pelaprat

The local geology has left its mark almost everywhere on the territory, shaping the identity of the Causses du Quercy and hiding real treasures there. 

What is a Geopark?

It is a label that is awarded to territories with a remarkable geological heritage.

The action of the Geoparks is divided into 4 parts:

  • The identification, protection and preservation of geoheritages.
  • Education, training and awareness.
  • Geotourism.
  • Cooperation with other geoparks.

The Causses du Quercy Regional Natural Park was labeled a UNESCO Global Geopark in May 2017.

Nature and its treasures

Along a walk, discover the resplendent flora of the causse. Depending on the season, you will discover truffle oaks, orchid, common junipers, maples, dogwoods, privet, cherry trees and many others.

In fields of mauve color hide the flowers that produce the famous safran, a marvel of the region that goes well with many dishes. The secrets of this spice with its bewitching aroma can be revealed to you during visits to the farm.

rich in taste, truffle called "black diamond" also makes the reputation of the causse and is present during markets which take place during the winter and summer seasons. In the past, men went in search of it, accompanied by a pig, now replaced by dogs that are more docile to train.

Furthermore, it is also possible to discover phosphate mines or a luxurious vegetation awaits you, in a natural site with many secrets to reveal to you, witnesses of a bygone epic, but present in the details of this natural setting.

A setting suitable for all kinds of activities

In this setting where nature is queen, it is impossible to miss out on all the possible activities: from the most classic to the most original, from the quietest to the most sporty, each member of the family will find something to suit them.

The Causses, reservoirs of biodiversity

The dry lawns of the Causses du Quercy are maintained naturally by sheep and the "lakes" of Saint-Namphaise.

There is a diverse flora with orchids and Mediterranean species such as Pinnate stipe or thatch sandwort. The fauna also very present on the causse will offer you the possibility of seeing a ocellated lizard, for an loud edicnema (bird also called "phantom of the causse") but also small insects like theAzure wild thyme or the buzzard locust.

Sheltered by the cliffs, birds like the Peregrine Falcon, Great horned owl orrock swallow are appearing.

On the causses, aerated woods are formed by downy oaks and Montpellier maples. The slopes of the hills are covered with wooded massifs, places of life of the Short-toed snake eagle, a small eagle that eats snakes and lizards.

The "little people" of the Causses

P.Givernaud

  • The man : for millennia on the Causses, it has always lived with nature, from prehistory to breeders, builders, archaeologists, traders, truffle growers, saffron growers today.
  • Caussenard sheep: Sheep emblematic of the landscapes of the Causse, it is recognized by its "dark glasses". It contributes to the maintenance of dry lawns and scattered oak woods. You can taste the meat of his lambs which supplies a large part of the red label sector "farm Quercy lamb".
  • The Circaète Jean-le-Blanc: it is a diurnal raptor that hunts and feeds on reptiles in wide open areas. It builds its nest in extensive wild and wooded areas, little frequented by humans.

  • The sulfur ascalaph: a colorful insect often related (wrongly) to dragonflies and butterflies, it is also called “Ascalaphe dragonfly”. Classified among the neuroptera, it is a common species on the lawns of the Regional Natural Park. It feeds mainly on small insects such as flies.
  • Woodcock ophrys: To reproduce, the Orphys or Orchid reproduces the shape and smell of a female insect. The males therefore court the plant and leave loaded with pollen which they carry to another plant.
  • Common juniper (juniperus communis): very common shrub on the dry lawns of our territory, it has persistent needles. Juniper fruits can be used as condiments. Wood is used to make objects and furniture.

Sculptures on the towpath at night
Sculptures on the towpath at night
C. Cieslar
Spotlight on...

The black triangle of Quercy

The night sky of the Regional Natural Park is one of the least affected in France by artificial lights. A triangle of about thirty km² is therefore distinguished in the heart of the territory by a "dark sky" and appears as a gateway to the stars.

This black triangle of Quercy is a privileged place for astronomical observation due to the absence of lights from agglomerations and communication routes.

head in the stars
Transhumance - Arrival of the herd in Luzech
Transhumance - Arrival of the herd in Luzech
A.Mooldijk
Spotlight on...

Transhumance Rocamadour - Luzech

Every year, the main transhumance of the Lot is an opportunity to accompany a herd of ewes who have left to clear the Lot valley and to raise awareness among the general public. It is the symbol of the program to reclaim overgrown spaces. For 5 days, this walk takes you along magnificent side roads from Rocamadour to Luzech.

Transhumance Rocamadour – Luzech

The man behind today's heritage

Many are the monuments still present on the Causse de Limogne originally created by man. Holders of a meaning, of an identity, today they represent the richness of our heritage.

The Causses du Quercy count many archaeological and paleontological sites, such as the cave decorated with Pech Merle which is one of the most famous in France. The territory is rich in cliffs, cornices and shelters which show the very ancient human life still present in the region. You can also meet many dolmens, tumulus, Celtic oppida or even Gallo-Roman roads and even an aqueduct in Vers.

From more recent times, you will also be able to observe, along your way, washhouses and more particularly "butterfly washhouses", carved crosses, origin of the spiritual heritage, mills and dry stone constructions. The latter, omnipresent on the territory, have low walls, delimiting plots and huts, called gariottes or caselles which served as shelters for tools, provisions of farmers, for domestic animals or even sometimes for men.

From castles and religious monuments are also part of the richness of our territory, a symbol of the past and of our ancestors, which must be discovered.

A rich rural heritage:

Pilgrims on a path lined with low walls
Pilgrims on a path lined with low walls
Mr Cochet

The dry stone walls

Resulting from the stoning of the fields, the low walls materialize the limits of plots, organized in a network. The density of this mesh punctuated with huts still testifies today to the traditional division of land by inheritance as well as the variety of soils and cultures linked to a complex topography.

Caselle in Flaujac-Poujols on the GR65
Caselle in Flaujac-Poujols on the GR65
Mr Cochet

Casselles and gariotes

These are huts made of dry stones. The gariote is a simple shelter with sometimes a few slabs serving as a seat. The caselles have multiple functions: shelter, shed, pile guard and storeroom, sheepfold, chicken coop, barn or temporary accommodation for servants or agricultural workers.

Super Cayrou in Gréalou
Super Cayrou in Gréalou
A. Crepin

Cayrous

These are heaps of stones with a neat facing. Some cayrous are multiple with the addition of buttresses corresponding to successive stonings. There are various arrangements: gariotes, lodges in their facings; access ramps at the top, niches or recessed stones protruding outside.

Stone balancing or cairn? at the dolmen
Stone balancing or cairn? at the dolmen
C.Asquier

The cairns

Also called montjoie, a cairn is an artificial pile of stones to mark a particular place. In the Lot, there are many of them, especially on the hiking trails and more particularly on the way to Santiago de Compostela.

The butterfly washhouses in Aujols
The butterfly washhouses in Aujols
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello

The washhouses

Lot washhouses flourished between 1800 and 1950, as in the rest of France. In the Lot, these witnesses of the past are still well preserved. Some washhouses in the Lot even have their own specificity with their stone slab in the shape of a "V", and which respond to the sweet name of "Butterfly washhouses".

Well on the GR65 Limogne-Varaire section
Well on the GR65 Limogne-Varaire section
Mr Cochet

The wells

In karstic terrain, access to water is always more or less problematic, water is scarce on the surface so wells allowing access to groundwater located in depth proliferate. On the causse, there are wells called "sompes", vast and circular in shape, they are framed by masonry walls.

Breathtaking sights

My favorites
Your favorites

L'igue de Crégols
L'igue de Crégols
C. Bouthé - Vent d'Autan
Promenade à la découverte de la flore du PNR des Causses du Quercy
Promenade à la découverte de la flore du PNR des Causses du Quercy
C. Pelaprat
Canoë sur le Lot le long du Chemin de halage vers Saint-Cirq Lapopie
Canoë sur le Lot le long du Chemin de halage vers Saint-Cirq Lapopie
J. Morel
Vue aérienne de Saint-Cirq-Lapopie
Vue aérienne de Saint-Cirq-Lapopie
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello
VTT dans le PNR des Causses du Quercy
VTT dans le PNR des Causses du Quercy
C. Pelaprat
Découvrez

Les Causses du Quercy, géoparc mondial Unesco

Une faune et une flore très riches mais aussi des lieux culturels importants comme le Gouffre de Padirac, les Grottes du Pech Merle, les Phosphatières du Cloup d’Aural ou encore Saint-Cirq Lapopie au sud et Rocamadour tout au nord.

Partez à la découverte du Parc Naturel Régional des Causses du Quercy, Géoparc Mondial UNESCO depuis le 1er mai 2017, en parcourant à pied ou en vélo les plateaux calcaires couverts de pelouses sèches ou de forêts de chênes. Laissez-vous entraîner au rythme de la rivière en bateau ou en canoë, au cœur de falaises surprenantes.

Les Causses du Parc Naturel Régional

Caselle sur la causse à Espédaillac
Caselle sur la causse à Espédaillac
C. Asquier

On compte trois causses (plateaux karstiques caractéristiques) au sein du Parc Naturel Régional des Causses du Quercy. Il s’agit des Causses de Gramat, de Saint Chels et de Limogne.

Ces territoires sont très secs et adaptés à l’élevage ovin. On y trouve de nombreuses grottes et cavernes souterraines sculptées par l’eau.

La faune et la flore sont très présentes dans le Causse de Limogne, sur un territoire boisé recouvert de pelouses sèches. On y trouve aussi de la truffe (aussi appelée « diamant noir » pour sa valeur et sa rareté) dans ses sous-sols.

Vous pourrez découvrir dans le causse de Limogne, un paysage riche et varié à travers différents itinéraires de grandes randonnées, notamment le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle.

Le causse de Limogne

Porte d’entrée du Parc Naturel Régional des Causses du Quercy, au sud de Cahors, le Causse de Limogne se distingue par sa singularité et son originalité. Une architecture naturelle remarquable, des sentiers de randonnées et des produits de terroir, font de ce lieu méconnu un endroit unique à découvrir et explorer.

Plage aux pterosaures
Plage aux pterosaures
Plage aux pterosaures

Causses du Quercy : Géoparc mondial UNESCO

Promenade à la découverte de la flore du PNR des Causses du Quercy
Promenade à la découverte de la flore du PNR des Causses du Quercy
C. Pelaprat

La géologie locale a laissé son empreinte un peu partout sur le territoire, façonnant l’identité des Causses du Quercy et y dissimulant de véritables trésors. 

Qu'est ce qu'un Géoparc ?

C'est un label qui est attribué à des territoires présentant un patrimoine géologique remarquable.

L’action des Géoparcs se décline en 4 volets :

  • L’identification, la protection et la préservation des géopatrimoines.
  • L’éducation, la formation et la sensibilisation.
  • Le « géotourisme ».
  • La coopération avec les autres géoparcs.

Le Parc naturel régional des Causses du Quercy été labellisé Géoparc mondial Unesco en mai 2017.

La nature et ses trésors

Le long d'une balade, partez à la découverte de la flore resplendissante du causse. Selon les saisons, vous y découvrirez des chênes truffiers, orchis, genévriers communs, érables, cornouillers, troènes, cerisiers et bien d'autres.

Dans des champs de couleur mauve, se cachent les fleurs qui produisent le célèbre safran, merveille de la région s'accommodant à bien des plats. Les secrets de cet épice à l'arôme envoûtant peuvent vous être présentés lors de visites à la ferme.

Riche par son goût, la truffe appelée "diamant noir" fait également la renommée du causse et est présente lors de marchés qui ont lieu pendant les saisons hivernales et estivales. Autrefois, les hommes partaient à sa recherche, accompagnés d'un cochon, aujourd'hui remplacé par des chiens plus dociles à dresser.

Par ailleurs, il est également possible de découvrir des phosphatières où une végétation luxuriante vous attend, dans un site naturel possédant de nombreux secrets à vous dévoiler, témoins d’une épopée révolue, mais présente dans les détails de ce décor naturel.

Un cadre proprice à toutes sortes d'activités

Dans cet écrin où la nature est reine, impossible de passer à côté de toutes les activités possibles : de la plus classique à la plus originale, de la plus tranquille à la plus sportive, chaque membre de la famille trouvera chaussure à son pied.

Les Causses, réservoirs de biodiversité

Les pelouses sèches des Causses du Quercy sont entretenues naturellement par les brebis et les "lacs" de Saint-Namphaise.

On trouve une flore diversifiée avec des orchidées et des espèces méditerranéennes comme le Stipe penné ou la Sabline des chaumes. La faune aussi très présente sur le causse vous offrira la possibilité de voir un lézard ocellé, un oedicnème criard (oiseau aussi appelé « fantôme du causse ») mais aussi de petits insectes comme l’Azuré du serpolet ou encore le criquet bourdonneur.

À l’abri des falaises, des oiseaux comme le Faucon pèlerin, le Hibou grand-duc ou l’Hirondelle des rochers font leur apparition.

Sur les causses, des boisements aérés sont formés par des Chênes pubescents et des Érables de Montpellier. Les versants des collines sont couverts de massifs boisés, lieux de vie du Circaète Jean-le-blanc, un petit aigle qui mange les serpents et les lézards.

Le "petit peuple" des Causses

P. Givernaud

  • L'homme : depuis des millénaires sur les Causses, il a toujours vécu avec la nature, de la préhistoire aux éleveurs, bâtisseurs, archéologues, commerçants, trufficulteurs, safraniers d’aujourd’hui.
  • La brebis caussenarde : brebis emblématique des paysages du causse, on la reconnait à ses « lunettes noires ». Elle contribue à l’entretien des pelouses sèches et des bois de chênes épars. On peut déguster la viande de ses agneaux qui alimente une part importante de la filière label rouge "agneau fermier du Quercy".
  • Le Circaète Jean-le-Blanc : il s’agit d’un rapace diurne qui chassent et qui se nourrit de reptiles dans de vastes milieux ouverts. Il construit son nid dans des zones sauvages étendues et boisées, peu fréquentées par l’homme.

  • L'ascalaphe soufré : insecte coloré et souvent apparenté (à tort) aux libellules et aux papillons, il est aussi appelé « Ascalaphe libellule ». Classé parmi les névroptères, il s’agit d’une espèce commune sur les pelouses du Parc Naturel Régional. Il se nourrit essentiellement de petits insectes comme les mouches.
  • L'ophrys bécasse : Pour se reproduire, l’Orphys ou Orchidée reproduit la forme et l’odeur d’un insecte femelle. Les mâles courtisent donc la plante et repartent chargés de pollen qu’ils transportent vers une autre plante.
  • Le genévrier commun (juniperus communis) : arbuste très commun sur les pelouses sèches de notre territoire, il possède des aiguilles persistantes. Les fruits du Genévrier peuvent être utilisés comme condiments. On utilise le bois pour fabriquer des objets et des meubles.

Sculptures sur le chemin de halage la nuit
Sculptures sur le chemin de halage la nuit
C.Cieslar
Zoom sur...

Le triangle noir du Quercy

Le ciel nocturne du Parc Naturel Régional est l’un des moins touché de France par les lumières artificielles. Un triangle d’une trentaine de km² se distingue donc au cœur du territoire par un « ciel noir » et se montre comme une passerelle vers les étoiles.

Ce triangle noir du Quercy est un lieu privilégié pour l’observation astronomique du fait de l’absence de lumières des agglomérations et des voies de communication.

La tête dans les étoiles
Transhumance - Arrivée du troupeau à Luzech
Transhumance - Arrivée du troupeau à Luzech
A. Mooldijk
Zoom sur...

La transhumance Rocamadour - Luzech

Tous les ans, la principale transhumance du Lot est l’occasion d’accompagner un troupeau de brebis parties débroussailler la vallée du Lot et de sensibiliser le grand public. C'est le symbole du programme de reconquête des espaces embroussaillés. Durant 5 jours, cette balade passe par des chemins de traverse magnifiques de Rocamadour à Luzech.

Transhumance Rocamadour – Luzech

L'homme à l'origine du patrimoine actuel

Nombreux sont les monuments encore présents sur le Causse de Limogne à l'origine créés par l'homme. Détenteurs d'une signification, d'une identité, ils représentent aujourd'hui la richesse de notre patrimoine.

Les Causses du Quercy comptent de nombreux sites archéologiques et paléontologiques, comme la grotte ornée de Pech-Merle qui est l’une des plus célèbres de France. Le territoire est riche en falaises, corniches et abris qui montrent la vie humaine très ancienne encore présente sur le région. On peut aussi rencontrer de nombreux dolmens, tumulus, oppida celtes ou encore des voies gallo-romaines et même un aqueduc à Vers.

D'époque plus récente, vous pourrez également observer au gré de votre chemin, lavoirs et plus notamment des "lavoirs papillons", des croix sculptées, origine du patrimoine spirituel, des moulins et des constructions en pierres sèches. Ces dernières, omniprésentes sur le territoire, comptent des murets, délimitant des parcelles et des cabanes, appelées gariottes ou caselles qui servaient d'abris pour les outils, provisions des fermiers, pour les animaux domestiques ou même quelquefois pour les hommes.

Des châteaux et monuments religieux font également partie de la richesse de notre territoire, symbole du passé et de nos aïeuls, qui se doit d'être découvert.

Un patrimoine rural riche :

Pèlerins sur un chemin bordé de murets
Pèlerins sur un chemin bordé de murets
M. Cochet

Les murets en pierre sèche

Issus de l’épierrement des champs, les murets matérialisent les limites de parcelles, organisés en réseau. La densité de ce maillage ponctué de cabanes témoigne encore aujourd’hui du partage traditionnel des terres par héritage ainsi que de la variété des sols et des cultures liées à une topographie complexe.

Caselle à Flaujac-Poujols sur le GR65
Caselle à Flaujac-Poujols sur le GR65
M. Cochet

Les caselles et les gariotes

Ce sont des cabanes constituées de pierres sèches. La gariote est un simple abri avec parfois quelques dalles servant de siège. Les caselles ont, elles, de multiples fonctions : abri, remise, garde-pile et cellier, bergerie, poulailler, étable ou habitation temporaire pour domestique ou ouvrier agricole.

Super Cayrou à Gréalou
Super Cayrou à Gréalou
A. Crépin

Les cayrous

Il s'agit d'amas de pierres au parement soigné. Certains cayrous sont multiples avec addition de contreforts correspondant à des épierrements successifs. On rencontre divers aménagements : gariotes, loges dans leurs parements ; rampes d’accès au sommet, nichettes ou pierres encastrées saillantes à l'extérieur.

Stone balancing ou cairn ? au dolmen
Stone balancing ou cairn ? au dolmen
C. Asquier

Les cairns

Egalement appélé montjoie, un cairn est un amas artificiel de pierres pour marquer un lieu particulier. Dans le Lot on en trouve beaucoup notamment sur les chemins de randonnée et plus particulièrement sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle.

Les lavoirs papillons à Aujols
Les lavoirs papillons à Aujols
Lot Tourisme - C. Novello

Les lavoirs

Les lavoirs lotois, ont prospéré entre 1800 et 1950, comme dans le reste de la France. Dans le Lot, ces témoins du passé sont encore bien préservés. Certains lavoirs du Lot ont même leur propre spécificité avec leur dalle de pierre en forme de "V", et qui répondent au doux nom de "Lavoirs papillons".

Puits sur le GR65 tronçon Limogne-Varaire
Puits sur le GR65 tronçon Limogne-Varaire
M. Cochet

Les puits

En terrain karstique, l’accès à l’eau est toujours plus ou moins problématique, l’eau est rare en surface donc les puits permettant d’accéder à des nappes situées en profondeur prolifèrent. Sur le causse, on trouve des puits nommés "sompes", vastes et de forme circulaires, ils sont encadrés de murets maçonnés.

Des sites à couper le souffle

Mes favoris
Vos coups de cœur