Sculptures on the towpath at night
Sculptures on the towpath at night
C. Cieslar
A celestial heritage

The Black Triangle of Quercy

The Cahors - Lot Valley destination has a well-hidden treasure: a starry sky of pure and striking beauty. Called "Quercy's Black Triangle", this geographical area - located within the Causses du Quercy Regional Natural Park - has an amazingly preserved sky ensuring incredible views of the stars and other celestial objects.
Saint Cirq Lapopie at night
Saint Cirq Lapopie at night
F. Vayssiere

Welcome to the kingdom of stars

Dreams full of eyes and head in the stars...

Have you ever dreamed of spending an evening surrounded by loved ones, or alone with yourself, to observe the luminous stars located on the immense black canvas of our galaxy? Have you ever felt your heart tighten with emotion at the vastness of the universe? Have you ever been amazed at the infinite number of stars, realizing that we are ultimately very little?  

If you have ever had the chance to contemplate the Milky Way, you know that it is an unforgettable and moving spectacle. The Cahors – Lot Valley destination offers you a unique opportunity to admire the stars and planets as you have never seen them before! Come live this moment out of time in the Black triangle, voted "Best sky in France" the heart of Causses du Quercy Regional Natural Park.

The “Black Triangle” Qu'es aquò?  

In 2002, a map of the quality of night skies in France was published: above the Causses du Quercy, a black triangle appears between Rocamadour and the Célé Valley… This dark area turns out to have the lowest light pollution in mainland France, largely explained by the absence of a city and the limited number of villages in this region. In this triangle appears a precious heritage: a dark sky with billions of silver gleams. While a large part of the world's population no longer has access to this celestial treasure because of light pollution from urban areas, the black triangle offers you the possibility of rediscovering this same sky that your ancestors once observed. . One of the priceless treasures that make up the richness of our territory ♥  

The harmful effects of light pollution? 

Beyond the inconvenience of no longer seeing the stars, light pollution has other more insidious effects on ecosystems. Indeed, the generalization of public lighting disturbs the fauna and flora which, like us, need a real night.  
In order to preserve this exceptional nocturnal heritage, several municipalities of the Causses du Quercy Regional Natural Park are committed to the process of preserving the darkness of the night by turning off their public lighting from a certain time and/or by installing more efficient candelabras. Other villages have also signed a charter for the protection of the environment and the night sky. To date, 32 municipalities in the Park have won the competition.

Butterfly washhouse under a starry sky
Butterfly washhouse under a starry sky
C.Cielsar

List of “Starred Towns and Villages”

Aujols, Beauregard, Belmont-Sainte-Foi, Bouziès, Brengues, cabrerets, Calès, Calvignac, Carlucet, Cénevières, Concots, Corn, Couzou, Cremps, Espagnac-Sainte-Eulalie, Espédaillac, Flaujac-Poujols, Fontanes-du-Causse, Lalbenque, Larnagol, Le Bastit, Lentillac-du-Causse, Limogne- en-Quercy, Nadillac, Orniac, Puyjourdes, Saint-Chels, Saint-Martin-de-Vers, Saint-Sulpice, Sauliac-sur-Célé, Sénaillac-Lauzès and Vaylats.  

Where and how to enjoy this grandiose spectacle? 

Caselle de Nouel under the starry sky
Caselle de Nouel under the starry sky
C.Cielsar

Where ?

In the Causses du Quercy Regional Natural Park of course, and more precisely from one of the “starred towns and villages”. Besides, if you have your own equipment, you will find observation sites with sky interpretation panels and places with telescopes in the villages of Limogne-en-Quercy, Reilhac, Miers and Carlucet. 

 

How? 'Or' What ?

With the naked eye or with a pair of binoculars! 

Here, the purity of the sky already reveals a thousand wonders to anyone who looks up. The show is breathtaking: The constellations and the moon, of cours ! At least four planets : Venus (called "the evening star"), Mars, Jupiter and Saturn. Some Deep Sky Objects : Orion nebula, the Pleiades cluster, the Andromeda galaxy... Shooting stars, satellites, the international space station...

With a telescope

Go further into the vastness of the sky and discover the jewels of the deep sky. If you don't have one, you can approach the astronomy clubs of Gigouzac or Gramat who organize observation workshops, conferences and outings for all audiences (simple contemplative or keen on astronomy).  

A stay in Lot with your head in the stars  

To take full advantage of this exceptional sky, we have selected accommodation equipped with telescopes in the heart of the natural park and which will put stars in your eyes:  

You might be interested...

My favorites
Your favorites

Sculptures sur le chemin de halage la nuit
Sculptures sur le chemin de halage la nuit
C.Cieslar
Un patrimoine céleste

Le Triangle Noir du Quercy

La destination Cahors - Vallée du Lot possède un trésor bien caché : un ciel étoilé à la beauté pure et saisissante. Appelé "Triangle noir du Quercy", cette zone géographique - située au sein du Parc Naturel Régional des Causses du Quercy - possède un ciel à la préservation épatante assurant ainsi des vues incroyables sur les astres et autres objets célestes.
Saint-Cirq Lapopie la nuit
Saint-Cirq Lapopie la nuit
F. Vayssière

Bienvenue au royaume des étoiles

Des rêves pleins les yeux et la tête dans les étoiles...

Avez-vous déjà rêvé de passer une soirée entouré des êtres chers à votre cœur, ou encore en tête à tête avec vous-même, afin d’observer les astres lumineux situés sur l’immense toile noire de notre galaxie ? Avez-vous déjà ressenti votre cœur se serrer d’émotion face à l’immensité de l’univers ? Avez-vous déjà été ébahi devant le nombre infini d’étoiles, réalisant que nous ne sommes finalement que bien peu de choses ?  

Si vous avez déjà eu la chance de contempler la voie lactée, vous savez que c’est un spectacle inoubliable et émouvant. La destination Cahors – Vallée du Lot vous offre une occasion unique d’admirer les étoiles et les planètes comme vous ne les avez jamais vues ! Venez vivre ce moment hors du temps dans le Triangle noir, élu « Meilleur ciel de France » au cœur du Parc Naturel Régional des Causses du Quercy.

Le « Triangle noir » Qu'es aquò ?  

En 2002, une carte de la qualité des ciels nocturnes en France est publiée : au-dessus des Causses du Quercy, apparaît un triangle noir entre Rocamadour et la Vallée du Célé… Cette zone obscure s’avère avoir la plus faible pollution lumineuse de France métropolitaine, s’expliquant en grande partie par l’absence de ville et le nombre restreint de villages dans cette région. Dans ce triangle apparaît un patrimoine précieux : un ciel obscur aux milliards lueurs d’argent. Alors qu’une grande partie de la population mondiale n’a plus accès à ce trésor céleste à cause de la pollution lumineuse issue des zones urbaines, le triangle noir vous offre la possibilité de redécouvrir ce même ciel qu’avaient pu observer vos aïeuls autrefois. Un des trésors inestimables qui fait la richesse de notre territoire ♥  

Les effets néfastes de la pollution lumineuse ? 

Au de-là du désagrément de ne plus voir les étoiles, la pollution lumineuse présente d'autres effets plus insidieux sur les écosystèmes. En effet, la généralisation des éclairages publics perturbe la faune et la flore qui, comme nous, ont besoin d’une nuit véritable.  
Afin de préserver ce patrimoine nocturne exceptionnel, plusieurs communes du Parc Naturel Régional des Causses du Quercy s’engagent dans la démarche de préservation de l’obscurité de la nuit en éteignant leur éclairage public à partir d’une certaine heure et/ou en installant des candélabres plus performants . D’autres villages ont également signé une charte de protection de l’environnement et du ciel nocturne.  À ce jour, 32 communes du Parc sont devenues lauréates du concours.

Lavoir papillon sous un ciel étoilé
Lavoir papillon sous un ciel étoilé
C. Cielsar

Liste des « Villes et villages étoilés »

Aujols, Beauregard, Belmont-Sainte-Foi, Bouziès, Brengues, Cabrerets, Calès, Calvignac, Carlucet, Cénevières, Concots, Corn, Couzou, Cremps, Espagnac-Sainte-Eulalie, Espédaillac, Flaujac-Poujols, Fontanes-du-Causse, Lalbenque, Larnagol, Le Bastit, Lentillac-du-Causse, Limogne-en-Quercy, Nadillac, Orniac, Puyjourdes, Saint-Chels, Saint-Martin-de-Vers, Saint-Sulpice, Sauliac-sur-Célé, Sénaillac-Lauzès et Vaylats.  

Où et comment profiter de ce spectacle grandiose ? 

Caselle de Nouel sous le ciel étoilé
Caselle de Nouel sous le ciel étoilé
C. Cielsar

Où ?

Dans le Parc Naturel Régional des Causses du Quercy  bien sûr, et plus précisément depuis une des « villes et villages étoilées ». D’ailleurs si vous avez votre propre équipement, vous trouverez des sites d’observation avec des panneaux d’interprétation du ciel et des places à télescopes dans les villages de Limogne-en-Quercy, Reilhac, Miers et Carlucet. 

 

Comment ?

A l’œil nu ou avec une paire de jumelles ! 

Ici, la pureté du ciel révèle déjà mille merveilles à qui lève les yeux. Le spectacle est époustouflant : Les constellations et la lune, bien sûr ! Au moins quatre planètes : Vénus (appelée « l’étoile du berger »), Mars, Jupiter et Saturne. Quelques objets du ciel profond : nébuleuse d’Orion, l’amas des Pléiades, la galaxie d’Andromède... Des étoiles filantes, des satellites, la station spatiale internationale...

Avec un télescope

Allez plus loin dans l’immensité du ciel et dans la découverte des joyaux du ciel profond. Si vous n’en possédez pas, vous pouvez vous rapprocher des clubs d’astronomie de Gigouzac ou de Gramat qui organisent des ateliers d’observations, conférences et sorties pour tout public (simple contemplatif ou féru d’astronomie).  

 

Un séjour lotois la tête dans les étoiles  

Pour profiter pleinement de ce ciel exceptionnel, nous vous avons sélectionné des hébergements et des animations au cœur du parc naturel et qui sauront vous mettre des étoiles plein les yeux !

Ça pourrait vous intéresser...

Mes favoris
Vos coups de cœur